more doubts
written: 7:47 p.m. on Thursday, May. 23, 2002

I was at the Queen's Royal Baton Relay Commonwealth Debates, or whatever it's called because the name is so godammned long that I can't remember it, and, save for the fact that I was very tired, it was interesting. The motion was: "This house believes in the bridging/breaching of digital divide." I cannot remember the exact words, but the gist is somewhat there.

Not much thoughts on the motion, except that you can't expect to fly without knowing how to walk. Just like you can't teach algebra to a person who does not know that 1+1=2. The opposition's stand was that basic education needs to be provided for the third world countries before they can be introduced to technology. I agree.

Anyway, the main point is, after the debate, when the floor was opened for the audience to ask questions and stuff, this ang mo guy behind me stood up and made a comment. My god. I was completely blown away by the manner of his speech, the things he talked about, and his Shakespearean quotations. And of course, let's not forget his accent. It was just like, wow. He reads "The Economist". The goddamned Economist. (I know that because he said that Nigeria is the most corrupted country "according to 'The Economist'.") Who the hell reads the bloody Economist?

But I was very impressed by his intellect. He managed to weave in the "The quality of mercy is not strained" quote from "The Merchant of Venice" into what he was saying, and right now I can't remember what he said as I have been suffering from a major migraine the entire day and I am very tired, but he quoted Shakespeare. That is just cool.

There is nothing more attractive in a man than intelligence. I mean it. Intelligent guys are sexier than stupid ones who do not know how to carry on an intellectual conversation. I don't know what I'm driving at here, but I have been thinking, and I think that Gen is all wrong for me.

I kind of knew it already. I chose not to think about it. Well, now I'm thinking about it, and I don't know what in the bleeding hell I'm doing. I don't exactly miss the irony here...but I don't know, I don't know what I'm doing. Never had. Doubt I ever would.

So, dad just came back, and is currently nagging at me. My friend from ECA told me she had a huge argument with her folks and ran away from home. She currently resides at her grandmother's. I want to be like her. I just don't have the guts to pack up and split.

Besides, where would I go?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010