a punctured sky.
written: 7:46 p.m. on Thursday, Apr. 22, 2004

Apparently I miraculously bagged the first prize for this internal Chinese creative writing competition thing. I wrote a poem about the fierce pride I take in my Chinese heritage, yadayadayada, mentioned it here.

That's really cool. But the novelty has already worn off.

I think I'm going to take English Literature and some Chinese thingy in the university. I can't choose one over the other so might as well do both.

Well, then again, we'll see.

Nicoll Highway collapsed a couple of days ago. No, it wasn't a terrorist attack, like I'd initially feared when all news about the incident were merely scrolling marquees across television screens. It was due to some soil movement gone wrong when some temporary structures erected for the construction of more (MORE!!!) MRT lines gave way.

I think we're lucky that the road was already closed off so there weren't many casualties. Still, it's tragic that there has been a few deaths already, and the last I heard, one person is still missing.

I don't know if under such circumstances, if I were a family member of the missing person, I'd consider no news to be good news at all.

I used to live near Nicoll Highway. Travelled on it every day getting home from school.

How tragic that we need an accident as large-scale and devastating as this to remind ourselves that Singapore, despite the comfort, the prosperity, the wealth, the security, the stability, is far from being infallible.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010