(david cook +) ok so i can't think of a title.
written: 11:12 a.m. on Thursday, Apr. 17, 2008

More American Idol ramblings! If it helps, all this madness will end on 21 May (or thereabouts) so bear with me.

Oh wait, before that, I just want to say that my Thailand paper sucks and that I've decided to reorganise the entire thing. Hopefully I can get it done in time for tomorrow's deadline. It's not so much the rearranging that annoys me; it's the reordering of the footnotes that will potentially give me a nightmare. And considering I have like, 70-something footnotes? OMG NOOOO.

I was actually so moved and inspired by Cookie's performance that I stayed up until 3 in the morning writing some prose-like thing that isn't fanfiction, but isn't non-fanfic either. I have no idea what it is, basically. But the point is that I wrote it. It's complete. The ending sucks, but I'm quite pleased with everything else. And I wrote it in a little over an hour. I was going to use Microsoft Word and I even opened up a document, but I sat in front of my laptop for about an hour and I couldn't get past the first paragraph. At around 1-something, after I was done saving all the David pictures I found on various sites and forums, I decided to shut down the laptop and try to write using pen and paper, and if that didn't work, just go to bed.

I'm convinced that I shouldn't attempt to write anything using my laptop anymore. I don't know what it was about the Popular foolscap pad and/or my black Pilot v5 pen, because I wrote virtually non-stop from 1.34 a.m. to 2.47 a.m., and when I checked the time I was shocked to find out that it was that late already. The time just flew by, almost like it ceased to exist.

I'm not going to turn this entry into another weepy emo post about law school and writing and the perceived mutual exclusivity of the two, so suffice it to say that I went to bed very happy.

Still, the last bit sucks though. But I'm just amazed that I managed to finish writing it, considering I've been utterly incapable of writing anything complete nowadays. And the first "poem" I wrote in 2008? Completely inspired by and about Cookie. I'd post it, but I still cannot get it to be what I want to to be, i.e. it still sucks, so I'll continue to tweak the living crap out of it and see what happens.

DAVID COOK INSPIRES ME OMG. HE'S AMAZING.

Anyway, on to the American Idol ramblings!

***

So I know the results have been announced already but since I'm certain that Cookie is safe, I'm going to wait for the 10 p.m. broadcast.

I never thought I'd say this, but shit, I'm freaking worried for Carly Smithson. And I'm amazed that I just typed that sentence.

Remember when I used to haaaate the living shit out of her? Well, something happened and now I'd be really sad if she leaves this week. She just CAN'T. LEAVE. She's the only decent voice left of the females, and she's the only person whom I want to see with David in the finale. (The original person was Michael Johns but we all know what happened to him.) Why is it that she's in constant danger of leaving when I like her, and that when I hated her, she was never in such danger? I must have jinxed her. Grah.

I hated her Show Must Go Own from Idol Gives Back week, only kind of liked her Without You yesterday, and I can't actually name a performance of hers that I loved. I kind of liked the Beatles song she did on Beatles Week 1 but because I was hating her then, I told myself that I hated it. In fact, she sounded really good. Oh, and her Dolly Parton week performance was actually really haunting and beautiful too, though I can't remember for the life of me what the song is called.

Carly, please don't go! You're the only person who can keep the finale from becoming David Cook Wipes the Floor with David Archuleta, based purely on your talent and not taking popularity into account!

I'm willing to bet, though, that she was eliminated this week. I'm still hoping it's bloody Syesha Mercado but if I'm being honest, Carly was in serious danger at the end of the night. Syesha sucked but there's nothing she can do that will make me say otherwise; everything about her is just contrived and fake to me, including her stupid glory notes and belting, to which I'm always like, "Stop showing off. NOBODY CARES."

Evidently SOMEONE must be caring; otherwise she would've got off my TV ages ago. I HATE HER OMG, please leave pleeeease. Carly totally pwns your ass in the singing department.

Before I rush off for class, can I also say that I CANNOT STAND DAVID ARCHULETA.

EVERY SINGLE SLOW SONG HE SINGS SOUNDS THE SAME. Imagine Angels When You Believe Other Schmaltzy Ballads = ArchuBot giving exact same treatment to all these different songs, NO MATTER THEIR CONTENT. I was appalled when Randy was all, "You can sing anything!"

WHAT THE FUCK? Have they forgotten those nightmarish weeks when he attempted up-tempo songs and completely fell flat? I don't even know where the hell THAT came from. It wasn't like he did anything different - he didn't. It also wasn't like he connected with the song - because he didn't. And it's certainly not like he can "sing anything", because he can't, and he's proven it more than twice already.

I found it quite morally repulsive to hate this kid because he's such a kid even though he's 18 this year. He comes off as 10, which is why I really don't want to watch a Cookie/ArchuBot finale which would be all kinds of uncomfortable and weird. But I just don't understand the craze over this kid, and Randy's "you can sing anything" was just ridiculous.

I'm sorry, but the only contestant who "can sing anything" is David Cook. I know my opinion is severely biased and coloured, but he truly can sing anything, including Rihanna.

I would go on, but I'm this close to being late for class. OMG crap I haven't changed! What should I wear!!1!!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010