Picspam: The Return of the King.
written: 4:25 p.m. on Tuesday, May. 19, 2009

And in the process, he crushes long-time nemesis Rafael Nadal, on Nadal's favourite surface, in front of a Nadal-loving home crowd.

Props to you, my dear Roger. Here's to more titles for the rest of the season! (Starting with, you know, the French Open. Heh.)

Center Court, Manolo Santana

"I thought I mixed it up well; I served well and was dangerous on particular return games."

"I thought I took all the right decisions today and in the end it looked pretty comfortable so it was a perfect win for me."

You're Still the One

Frenemies :P

Mutua Madrilena Madrid Open 2009 - Gentlemens' Singles Champion

The Two Champions - Roger Federer and Dinara Safina

Super cute moment when they were both startled by the boom sound that set off the confetti

This one is major LOL-inducing. Roger's eyes are half-closed, Dinara looks shocked. HAHAHA.

Gracious in Victory, Gracious in Defeat (And Super Adorable to Boot)

My favourite picture from the ceremony:

Best Four Players in Madrid

The Best Player, Ever

Ironically and unintentionally prophetic:

Yes, indeed, everything changes. Hopefully it's all upwards for Roger from now.

One last comment: WHERE. IS. THE. CRYSTAL. SHIELD? When they first presented the cheapo-looking plate to Dinara, I was bitching about how sexist they were in anticipation of the Masters Series shield that I've seen Roger holding before. Imagine my shock when Roger got the SAME CHEAPO PLATE! I couldn't help but laugh when Nadal got his fruit bowl. He has an extra bowl to put his bananas/grapes. At least Caroline's has some snazzy design; Rafa's is just a plain old bowl.

Madrid is still a shit tournament, as you can tell by the lousy trophies they all got, but it will forever remain the tournament where Roger did the following:

1. Ended his six-month long titles drought;
2. Ended his five-match losing streak against Nadal;
3. Ended Nadal's 33-match winning streak on clay;
4. Made his head-to-head with Nadal 7-13;
5. Registered his second win over Nadal on clay;
6. Became the first man ever to beat Nadal twice on clay (which shows Nadal's utter dominance on the surface, because, yeah, this is Roger Federer we're talking about);
7. Denied Nadal three consecutive Masters title on clay;
8. Won his 15th Masters series, equalling Nadal's;
9. Defeated Nadal on clay in straight sets for the first time; and, hopefully,
10. Took the first step towards becoming the next French Open champion.

Okay, 10 is a bit of a tall order; Andy was right about Nadal still being the favourite. But a girl can dream, no? A girl can dream.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010