floating on cloud 9
written: 6:40 a.m. on Sunday, Apr. 14, 2002

I did the most outrageous thing I have ever done yesterday. It was crazy. It was completely out of character. And it paid off.

I told my parents I was going out with The Goofball and a bunch of other friends to celebrate her birthday. It was what I originally intended to tell my folks. I'm not going to think about the magnitude of the lie, because there is no point to it. I went to the restaurant all by myself. I took the wrong bus and dropped off at McDonald's, which precedes the restaurant by like, a long long distance. I wasted a lot of time at the restaurant itself by not knowing what to do. I was panicking inside when I've finished my dessert and still had not do jack shit. I had The Goofball with me on SMS the whole time, and I told her like, "Shit, I've finished my dessert, I haven't done jack shit, HOW!!!!" She said, "Give him the note! It's the only way!"

I was all panicky so I quickly scribbled some stupid thing on a piece of paper (I brought a notebook with me, and a pen - resourceful, am I not? Truth is, I brought my diary with me as a security blanket), like: "Hi. I am really nervous about doing this, and I really don't know what I'm doing, but I think you're gorgeous and I was wondering if you'd like a walk or something around here? Or something?"

I got up and went to the loo. I passed him on the way, and I didn't think, I just did. I shoved the paper in his face and he looked at it, looked at me, and said, "For me?" He was surprised, I could tell. I couldn't TALK. I had this dumb grin on my face, and the only thing I could do was say, "Yeah..." Then I went to the loo.

When I went back he was behind the counter, reading my note. He was laughing, but not in a mean, "what a loser you are" way. He saw me and he was smiling, and I just about died because that is such a beautiful sight, and I went back to my table and the phone was vibrating, so I answered it, and I saw him write something on a piece of paper and he gave it to me, and I opened it, and it was his handphone number. I just started smiling. I could not help it. I don't think I have stopped yet.

I asked for the bill and it was S$18.13. I gave the waitress a S$50 bill. I waited a while, and then he came and gave me my change. And he said his name is "Gen", which he pronounced "jin". At that time I still thought he was called Gem so I was kind of surprised. My mom is a blind dingbat. I asked, "How old are you?" He said 20. I said I'm 16. He nodded, and asked for my name. I told it to him, including the spelling and everything, and English is not his mother tongue. Neither is any of the languages of the races in the country.

I know this entire entry is shittily written. Bear with me. I'm not done yet.

So he said he'd call me, so I dug around my bag and took out a piece of paper and scrawled my house number on it with the words, "Don't call at night!" He saw that and he kind of laughed, and I swear, he is amazingly sexy. He has dimples. Oh my god. Okay, so that was when I finished my dinner and everything, so I got up to leave. He was like, "You're going?" And I said yeah, with another dumb smile, bye, or something to that effect. I walked out of the place and passed the non air-con section. He was out there, I looked back and he saw me, and I waved and he waved back.

Smile smile smile all the way to the bus stop. I SMS-ed The Goofball with the words, "I GOT HIS NUMBER!" I asked for directions to the MRT station, 'cause my folks thought I was at Orchard Road. I sat down after a couple told me which buses to take and SMS-ed The Goofball some more, and smiled some more, and it was as if I was walking on air. The couple informed me that the bus was approaching. I thanked them and said, "Bye", boarded the bus, and I smiled some more. A while later The Goofball called me and demanded for details. I tried to be as detailed as possible, but the truth is, I was in a total state of shock. I could not believe what I had done. And more importantly, I could not believe he didn't totally humiliate me.

The entire time, from the second I stepped out of my house to the moment of giving him the note, I had no idea what I was doing. I just let Impulse drive me, and you know what? I love Impulse. Impulse, you have been awesome to me. I love you so damn much. Thank you for this. Last night was the best thing that ever happened to me.

But I'm not done. I sent him a message because I forgot to tell him not to call on Sunday, as someone that isn't me might pick up and I'd be screwed for sure, and thus began the SMS-ing session thingy. I knew from his messages that he isn't Singaporean. The first few messages dealt with things like, which number do I call you? When can I call you? I don't know why, but he lives one hour away from his workplace. I live 90 minutes away from my school by public transport.

And he sent me this: "Hey felt so surprise when I read your mass. Did you saw me before". Followed by this: "And u know....u r also very beautiful".

Would you not totally melt at that? I did, a la Amelie in, well, "Amelie". I told him to call me at 11.30. I picked up on the first ring (I have an extension in my room). He is so incredibly adorable and cute, and nice, and he sounded so damn shy, like me. I'm not going to type out the conversation as it is private and it is mine, but I did tell him I was very nervous, and his reply was, "I am nervous too."

He is 20, he likes black and white, and he is from Nepal. Yes, Nepal. Wow. At one point of time he said, and I quote, "You are very pretty." Oh my bloody god, I think the silly smile is permanently plastered on my face. I asked him if he wanted to go out, and he said okay. Wednesday. I have a problem though. I have Maths remedial until 3.30 p.m., and it takes me 90 minutes at least to reach my part of the country. I want to see him again. But am I going to skip remedial to see him? Is it right for me to do that?

Well hell, it wasn't right for me to lie to my parents so that I can do what I did. I have to switch the machine off. Parents may wake up anytime.

I am so incredibly happy. I have never felt this way in a long time. There is so much I want to ask him, but I couldn't do that over the phone, as I suffered from a major brain fart, and he doesn't even give a shit that I'm 4 years younger, and oh, he doesn't have a girlfriend! Sigh.

I don't know how to end this entry, so what the hell, I'll just click 'done'.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010