poem: sweet champagne masquerade
written: 10:14 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 07, 2005

Sweet Champagne Masquerade

try to fathom why
even after you�ve shattered the fragile
glass that keeps my illusions from being brutally stolen from me
i still get the urge to take your
hand, just your hand

trace the curve of your fingers
skin on skin, empty air molecules in between,
barely significant enough to make a difference.

i sift my Fiction from my Fact
do it in broad daylight
away from the haunting melancholy of the face of the
moon at night
and you�re next to me,
coaxing me along,
and the sliver of space between us
has never seemed so wide.

my Fiction is sifted from my Fact
now i even know the Truth
the way your bible paints my cathartic picture black.
you helped me shatter the glass, remember?
i should thank you
but the words are stuck in my throat.

it�s no use anymore.
try to fathom why
i still think about you
relentlessly, just like old times,
taking me back to where it all began:
the third-floor window, Wednesday afternoon, your smile
a refrain that has been repeated one too many times
it�s overkill now, you and i both know it.

but
(there�s always a but)
rationality is not a factor;
we can talk economics all day long but
the truth will always remain:

it�s Literature that will always matter
even if you�re not the one
that will fill up the cavity
perpetually masquerading as my heart.

January 7, 2005

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010