what are we coming to?
written: 3:17 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2002

The strangest thing just happened. On the 26th of December 2001, I did my community service, right? I think I wrote about it here. On my way to the cinema to see "The Lord of the Rings", I saw a couple of western kids (what a foreign word), possibly Americans, one male, one female. They were in front of me. So today on my way home, I was thinking about something that happened to me yesterday at the same place, you know, the same mall, and somehow, my thoughts went to those two maybe-Americans...actually, just the guy. Here's the strange part: At the bus stop, I saw the two of them. I can swear they're the same people, I can remember faces like no one else I know can. It's the same guy, and the same girl, and can I just add here that that guy is really, really hot?

How weird is that? I just don't get things like that...it's a bit too coincidental. I mean, what are the odds? They appeared in my thoughts, and all of a sudden, they appeared before me. How weird.

So, regarding the short description...I don't suppose I'd ever get married. I don't want to end up like my parents are now...last night they had this huge fight, okay? It invovled my uncle, who went to Taiwan for a few days and I have another uncle there who's a doctor and he went to him for a check-up or whatever, his test results, a fax machine, and, yeah. That's it. My mom said something that insulted my dad, to the extent that he accused her of looking down upon his family. It's really fucking weird, okay? My parents are cousins (though me and my brother turned out rather "normal"), and since my dad's side lives in Taiwan and my mom's side in Singapore, both sides don't get to see each other much. But come on, they're family. Their moms are fucking sisters. I mean, it's so stupid. Daddy yelled something about divorcing Mommy if it weren't for brother and me. It's so FUCKED UP. if you want a divorce, fine. Go ahead. Just don't put the blame on ME. I did not ask to be pulled into this fucked up world. I did not ask for them to stay together even, as I really don't care.

Okay, that was a lie. But yeah. Change of subject. The cousins thing. It wasn't until much later, when I was about 13, when I found out that cousins aren't supposed to marry each other. I never thought much of it, and still don't think much of it, and if anyone thinks a lot of it, I'd appreciate it if you keep it to yourself. Okay?

Actually, come to think of it, those "really? your parents are cousins?" I kept getting in primary school finally makes sense...

what are we coming to?
i just don't know anymore
- radiohead.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010