no more lethargy
written: 6:18 p.m. on Monday, Jul. 29, 2002

Finally passed a Maths test after a million years. I guess work does pay off. I made a lot of stupid, senseless mistakes that cost me about 7 marks, so I'm supposed to get 37/50, not 30. Dammit. I don't know why but I cannot just settle for being average, I have to be better than average, even when it comes to things I know I suck at. People are weird. Or maybe it's just me.

Anyway, the English teacher read to the class the comments made on our oral exam. What the teacher said about me, abridged:

Reading - Bold, confident style.

Picture description - Wide and varied range of vocabulary. My teacher said I got very high for it.

Conversation - In-depth analysis of the education system and its failings. Apparently I got very high too, but no full mark, dammit. Some girl from some other class got a bloody full mark. Dammit.

So yeah. Sounds like an A1. Ha.

There is a girl from Japan visiting our school. She is a friend of one of my classmates', so she's sitting in in our lessons and everything. I think it's an exchange programme. She speaks neither English nor Chinese, and I obviously don't speak Japanese, so I didn't say anything to her except my name, because the whole class had to. She seems pretty innocent and...easily bullied.

But shhh. Don't tell anyone I said that.

Jay Chou's 3rd album was out today and I bought it. It's called The Eighth Dimension. When I went to the store I couldn't find it anywhere, and I was thinking to myself, "What the fuck? They don't have Jay Chou, the most popular male singer from Taiwan? How the hell do they do business?!" So I asked the woman at the counter and she said yes, they have it, and it just arrived and they are doing stock check. So I waited for about 15 minutes to get the CD. I believe I was the first to buy it. It came with a free Jay Chou pouch thingy which I would never use. I mean, I like his music, but to carry a pouch thingy with his name on it is just a little too tacky, if you ask me. His second album came with a pictorial book, which is stupid because 1) he's ugly and 2) I like his music, not his face. I'd rather if the freebie was a VCD of his music videos or something, though his music videos don't exactly have great concepts either, judging from the ones off his first LP. My god, I have all 3 of his albums. I can't believe it. To explain the short description: Was in a state of total lethargy in class. Am no longer feeling it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010