i really need sleep...
written: 11:21 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 08, 2002

...but my whole mind is about "Signs". I cannot stop thinking about it. It is just so thrilling and so melancholic. I actually gripped my brother's poor arm during scenes when it appeared that the alien was about to pop out and I had my hand on my face, thinking, dear god, get me out of here, this is too scary!

The best thing about the movie is that its main focus is on the Hess family. It is about family and what a family does in terms of crisis, and I appreciated the sentiment of being there for each other.

This is not Independence Day. Please, don't insult Signs. It's better than Independence Day. I don't even remember how ID4 went (granted, I was ten when I watched it, but I was below 8 when I watched Jet Li's movies and I remember most of them). Signs is just brilliant. Just amazingly brilliant. I think if you don't watch it, you'd be the dumbest idiot to ever grace the earth and I feel sorry for you because you'd miss out, big time. I mean, for once, Joaquin was funny and his character was not at all fucked up. (He was funny in U-Turn, but his character was fucked up so it does not count.) For another, movies like Signs are hard to come by nowadays. The few recent movies I can think of that rely on atmosphere and not special effects are The Others and The Devil's Backbone, both scary like shit movies which scared me shitless and I don't want to think about them now.

But Signs is a gem. It is the best movie I've seen this year, right ahead of Spider-Man, which comes second. Ignore the negative reviews because those jackasses have no idea what they're talking about. The same reviewer who said Signs' ending was anti-climatic said that Unbreakable did not measure up to The Sixth Sense. What, is he on crack? Unbreakable is better than TSS, and Signs is better than both movies, and all three movies are fantastic.

I've said it so much now and I'm spending precious sleep time to convince you to watch this movie, so for the love of my sanity, fucking go already. Signs is just like, really astonishingly polished and stylish and sentimental and thrilling and GREAT, dammit. Trust me, you won't regret it, unless your taste in movies is way different from mine.

God, M. Night Shyamalan and Disney should pay me for this...

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010