a head that pops. literally. and unfounded alternate realities.
written: 6:49 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2002

I simply can't get over how easily I slept last night. Man, the drug was fantastic. I don't suppose though that the drug was meant to help me sleep. What makes a bloody pill cause drowsiness anyway? It is precisely because it causes drowsiness that I can only take it at night. And the drowsiness it causes is like, it's like an orgasm. You know, you cannot stop until you have it. You just keep going and going and going until wham! You're in la-la land.

So that analogy is lame, but hey.

There really isn't a purpose to this entry. I'm sitting in front of my computer, bored shitless, and I just have to do something or I'll pop. Literally pop. I can picture the top of my head flying open with a loud 'pop' and bits of my brains shooting out from my skull and sticking their gruesome selves onto the ceiling, which is my brother's ceiling because the computer is in his room. Wouldn't that be the coolest, having a head that pops? I mean, it would be like a first, you know? I'd be a pioneer, the first person in the world to have a popping head.

Speaking of pioneering. Dad had me entertaining the fantasy of earning some prestigious scholarship to some prestigious college, like Harvard, and when I have fully placed myself in that alternate reality, I said outloud, "Hmm. I'd be the first in the family. I'd be the pioneer."

My cousins are doctors and engineers and artists and such, but none of them have studied overseas save for one. I think it would be pretty cool to go off to some Ivy League college and return to Singapore four years later and have the relatives gushing over me, like, "Wah Yelen, you so clever ah! How was [insert name of Ivy League college]? Wah, I am very impressed leh?"

And I'd be all modest and everything, like, "Oh, it's nothing. It doesn't even require a lot of work. They simply like my writing."

Nice dream, eh?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010