angels in my life
written: 5:07 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 15, 2002

"We always had angels in our lives -- people who became friends and are friends to this day." - Joaquin Phoenix, GQ June 2000.

When I found it, I immediately thought of the above quote, which sprang into my head almost without warning. I understand Joaquin's sentiment. Today I realise that I've always had angels in my life, I just didn't open my eyes wide enough to notice.

I cried without abandon on that day. Classmates tried to comfort me, but truth be told, I did feel like I could never be comforted again. I admit, it is a bit of a stretch, but the strong expectancy of scoring a perfect score and the reality of missing it by just a bit took its toil on me, not to mention the stress that everyone has to deal with, the stress I am so not immuned to, so it wasn't my fault, really.

I went back to school today and discovered a brown envelope under my desk. On it are the words "private and confidential". Opened it up, found two pages of green notebook paper and a piece of drawing paper.

It was a short story written in poetry form and a drawing of a crying eye, written and drawn by one of my classmates, whom I shall call The Artist. I was so, so, so amazingly touched that I almost started to cry all over again. It was a sweet and incredible attempt at cheering me up, and so unexpected because The Artist and I are not very close friends.

I was just so overwhelmed. I gave her a hug and said, "Thank you, thank you so much." She understood, of course, and replied, "You okay now?"

Man, isn't that just so nice? I think it is.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010