it's a GOAL! (for us, not you)
written: 4:16 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 19, 2002

So I played goalkeeper during P.E. for football and was scared out of my wits. The pressure being exerted onto the poor goalie is incredible; you're the most important person, and the team is relying on you to stop the ball from going into the net, and if/when it does go into the net, you'd be like, "Shit!"

My admiration for Iker Casillas (see 'rocks my boat' on right) has grown immensely. I've always known that he's excellent, but after today, I have finally realised just how difficult it is being goalie, and that being a world-class one is even harder.

I didn't get to do much though. Most of the time I stood at my goal post and waited for the ball to come to my side. The opponents were so incredibly lan sai that they approached my goal post in a grand total of four times. Yes, that's right, four times. My team were scoring goals left and right and they had four measley attempts. All I can say is, HAHAHAHAHAHA!

The first time someone from the other team approached with the ball I ran out and grabbed it before she could even attempt to score. The second time I did the same, but not without screaming my head off. Did not come into contact with the ball during the third time, but it wasn't a goal because the girl missed.

The last time, however, the fucking football swished over my head and landed safely in the net. Man, I was pissed. Two amazing (okay, not exactly) saves and one lousy blunder. I am not doing it again, ever. I'd rather run all over the place than stand at one spot and feel the pressure closing in on me whenever the opponents approach with the ball.

And besides, I get a real kick out of snatching people's ball away from them. The look of surprise on their faces is simply priceless.

Anyway. I have mock exams every afternoon for the rest of this week. ARGH! Nobody told me I had a Physics mock on Wednesday. I have not even started revision. Talk about being awfully screwed. Will try my best to study everything, but aha, last-minute crammings never work.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010