defining life
written: 6:39 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 23, 2002

It's the Hungry Ghosts Festival this month, according to the Lunar Calendar (???? I'm not sure what it's called in English). People are burning shit all over the place and I understand it's tradition, religious and cultural, but the stench of burnt incense really gets to me. It gives me a splitting headache and I'm always paranoid that some of the ashes would get into my eyes and I would be blinded.

Today while walking to the bus-stop some random dust particle flew into my eye and I suffered in silent discomfort for about an hour straight. I kept rubbing my poor eye but it still stung. That was at 4. It's better now.

Like I said yesterday I did the A Maths Paper Two mock exam. Found it easier than Paper One, strangely. There was a question on relative velocity and I didn't even try to do it. I didn't even write down the question number at the left-hand margin; I just skipped it and never looked back. I got a bloody zero for that topic, for chrissakes. Still cannot do it.

And it was six marks! Argh.

Anyway. My family are at some temple right now. I wanted to go along initially as I thought we'd be going to the cemetery, but we're not. I don't want to go to a temple. And my wanting to go to the cememtery has nothing at all to do with tradition or whatever. The cememtery is beautiful at around 5 or 6, albeit a little morbidly so. Because it's a graveyard, there are no tall houses, no high-rise apartments, nothing to obstruct the view of the sky, and as you watch the sun set, you're face-to-face with the reality of how you're really just one small speck of, well, dust in the entire world.

And it's peaceful, for some reason or another. Watching the sun set. Even if it's just for that few seconds, that one moment. It is the definition of life, the sun is.

I wrote about the sunset in one of my earlier entries but I can't remember its title, its date of publication (ha, ha), or its html name, if it even has one. I remember though that Jeff said the description was beautiful. Hehe.

Compliments are out of this world.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010