elated
written: 3:42 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 25, 2002

After many many long and drawn-out weeks (weeks? more like months!) of no contact with Genie, I finally managed to call him early this morning at about 1 a.m. He picked up on the second ring, and he cheerfully greeted me with a very enthusiastic, "Hey! Sweetheart!"

Quote, unquote. Sweetheart! I heard it, and I melted into the receiver. It is so much better than being called 'baby'. Trust me, I would know. I couldn't talk long as I was afraid my father or whoever would suddenly come out of his room. I was using the phone in the kitchen as I slept in my brother's room (who has an unjustified fear of ghosts), and I thought using the telephone outside would give me no way out if I were unlucky enough to be caught in the act. My reasoning was, if I talked in the kitchen, at least I could pretend to be getting a glass of water if somebody came out.

But nobody did, thankfully. He was so happy to hear from me and I was happy too that I could talk to him. The phone call made me realise how much I really, really, really miss everything about him and being with him. It has been so long that I've almost forgotten the way he makes me feel, but not quite, for how can I ever forget something so special, so precious? It's an impossibility.

At one point of time the conversation went something like this:

Me: God, it's been so long since we last talked. It's all my fault, I'm sorry.

Genie: It's okay, don't say sorry to me.

I don't know. I loved that, I really did. He is so sweet, so adorable, so romantic in his own ways. I can't imagine ever breaking his heart. I don't ever want to.

Well anyway. Channel 5 played some old UEFA Champions League match between Real Madrid and some German club who is totally insignificant. I was told that it was last season's Final. Yeah well. I watched it towards the end, and the goalkeeper, the Cesar guy, sprained his ankle or something, and all of a sudden I saw Iker Casillas jumping about off the field. That was when I realised, he's coming in! Oh my god!

I was freaking out in front of the TV when the phone rang. It was Cheryl, who called to tell me about Casillas being on TV, but of course I already knew, but thank you nevertheless. :)

It was quite boring because the camera basically never goes to the goalkeeper unless the other team attacks, and the German team was ultra shit so I couldn't see Casillas for a while. A few German players attempted goals but they were so off-target that my goalie basically had nothing to do; all he did was jump a little, run a little, and that was it.

But! A miracle happened, and some German player shot on-target, and my capable goalkeeper blocked it with his powerful hands! He stooped, held out his hands in front of him, and the ball flew out of the field.

He is amazing, that Casillas. Such a great goalkeeper. My dad was yelling at me to study so I had to switch off the television (but I didn't mind as I was recording it), but he still made some pretty darn awesome saves and I got to see them! Practically everybody was crowded around his goalpost, mostly players from the German club (Leversomeshitorother), but the ball did not even have the chance to land in the net, exactly because Casillas went in after the Cesar guy was injured.

I just don't understand why wasn't he the starting player when he had, and still has, the number one jersey. It's strange. My brother spewed his usual shit and said it is because Cesar is better, and Casillas has the number one jersey because he paid the coach one hundred dollars to let him keep it. What the fuck?! My brother is retarded, I swear.

My folks discovered some lake at Singapore's only hill a couple of weeks ago while they went to climb the hill, and my mother told me there was this good-looking guy there, and I'm curious so I told Mommy that I wanted to go. And besides, it's good to get out of the house for air once in a while.

I miss Gen sooooo much.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010