yes, more school
written: 5:59 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 01, 2002

This is not good:

Literature

Julius Caesar: 18/25

Unseen prose: 17.5/25

To Kill A Mockingbird Text-based: 17/25

TKAM essay: 18/25

Overall: 71%, to nearest whole number, A2

Combined Humanities

Social Studies: 37/50

Geography Elective: 30.5/50

Overall: 68%, to nearest whole number, B3

I was two marks away from having four distinctions on my certificate thing. Now I have to settle for three. Got back Social Studies first and had the shock of my life when I found out it was an A. I been failing the damn subject for two years and suddenly I got an A. Of course I was rejoicing. I thought I breezed through Geography, so I was already envisioning a wonderful four distinctions, but of course reality has to fuck me over. Oh well. It was, at least, better than expected.

As for Lit. My mom's reaction: "Only an A2?" Pretty much sums up how I feel. Honestly though I expected less than that. TKAM stumped me as they gave characters and stupid narrating events shit, which I don't think are important at all, and my forte is prejudice and racial discrimination. Like last year's exam question was on the lynch mob, and I got a 20/25 from the teacher who freely gave out single-digit scores to other poor students. The worst part is the prose. I knew what I was doing. I just had no time to think properly and rushed through the whole shit, so that I forgot, in my concluding paragraphs, to state my feelings towards the bloody narrator, and so I got marked down. I went to the teacher for a confirmation of whether it really was because of that that I didn't get the ultimate grade, and guess what? She yelled at me. Like what the hell. In Secondary Two she thought I was the best thing since sliced bread, outside of her drama society, which I eventually did quit, and hell, she gave me a very nice 90% for the composition that I got back yesterday. She really did not have to yell at me. I felt so small that I almost started crying.

But I didn't, of course. Tomorrow the scientific and mathematical shit are coming back, so I expect F9s all around. Haha. No, I really do. So far I have 14 points, which means I need to pass at least one more subject to get into a college, however shitty, but I don't care as I don't want to go to school for the first three months next year. I just don't want it to be like, "Oh, Yelen did so badly for the prelims that she can't even go to a junior college!" I want it to be like, "Yelen did all right and qualified for a JC, but chose not to go."

The difference between the two is obviously vast, and my dad would only settle for the latter.

You know what else? I cannot believe the teacher didn't fail me for the TKAM text-based, taking into consideration the fact that I totally got the events wrong. I guess she likes me.

Some people are starting to irritate me again. The competitive scene turns me off, and I'm disgusted at how unsupportive some people can be. It is always, "You're doing better than me, so I hate you." Grow the fuck up. The world does not revolve around you. It never has, and never will.

I'm still rather pissed that I didn't get four distinctions. Argh. How proud my parents would be if I got four As. I guess I really have to settle for three. At least I got three. Others get one or two or even none.

People are not signing my guestbook. Why?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010