it's the city by the sea
written: 5:10 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2002

So I saw City by the Sea. Click on the link, but don't believe the junk the people there have to say, especially not the comment right at the bottom of the main page. It's a load of bull. I cried watching it. I had tears in my eyes and a few drops spilled over. The climax was so incredibly touching. I didn't think James Franco and Robert De Niro would actually act together, but they did, wonders of all wonders. Great film, this one. Really awesome. James Franco is such a genius. He just reminds me so much of James Dean, which is obviously a good thing because nobody can ever match Jimmy in terms of depth and talent ever, but Franco is so close. He even talked like Jimmy in this film. I need to see the James Dean movie.

The theatre was largely empty, which made sense as virtually nobody watches a movie there. I don't blame them. The fucking sound system was a fucking piece of shit. You could hear the speakers buzzing. I studied a bit too, in the library.

Now listen to this. I went to the loo to take a piss and all, and the only cubicle available was one that required me to squat. I couldn't care less, although I don't like squatting to pee, so I went in, pulled down my pants, etc, and started to pee. I flushed, got out, looked down at my shoes and discovered that a small portion of my pants was wet.

Conclusion? I peed on my pants. Haha. That was funny.

I so cannot wait for December. So many movies lined up. Firstly and most importantly, we have The Two Towers. I've waited literally a year for it and it's finally going to arrive! And Leonardo DiCaprio has two movies out in the same month, and both of them are directed by big-shot directors: Steven Spielberg, whom everyone knows, and Martin Scorsese.

I'm going to watch all of them, of course.

I'm planning to hop down to any bus interchange after the exams and take a random bus and see where it takes me. Sounds like fun. If I get lost, all I have to do is to look for the nearest MRT station and head home. You can't get lost in Singapore. It's too frigging small.

Know what's retarded? Oasis cancelled their gig here because they fear being bombed by terrorists. Um, haha. Terrorists definitely have to look elsewhere if they want a fucking save haven, because Singapore is not the place. John Howard should take note. It's so unfair that we're on the list of countries-you-should-avoid-if-you-don't-wanna-be-killed-by-idiots. I mean, I don't deny the fact that a few landmarks here almost got bombed. I don't. They were planning to bomb a stupid MRT station, one that I pass everyday. I'm aware that it's real and happening, etc, but just because we're in the region doesn't mean there's any potential danger. And even if there was, it's no reason to stay away. You can be bombed anywhere. Bali is proof.

So Oasis are a bunch of wusses and who wants to see them live anyway?

Side-tracking a little. James Franco is playing a male prostitute in his next movie. Aha. So exciting. I have to see it.

City by the Sea is NC-16. The man outside the theatre stopped me and I almost got carded. He asked if I was over 16. I said yeah, I am, wanna see my IC? He just waved me in.

I guess I look younger than 16. What a drag.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010