it's oh so quiet
written: 1:32 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 03, 2002

1) Was studying for Social Studies when I got really disgusted with the shallowness of the text. To vent my frustration, I took a pair of scissors and snipped at the edges of the pages. Damn, it felt good. Social Studies in Singapore is a totally tiresome and insipid subject. I hate it. I'm not even going to read Good Governance because it's nothing but a crock of shit.

2) Am up at 1.32 a.m. because I wanted to finish reading the Sec 4 SS book, but the Rise of Venice bit is so boring. Only the bloody Ministry of Education can make Venice sound boring, so props to them for achieving this mean feat. Anyway, Real Madrid is playing Deportivo La Coruna or whatever, or Johnny Depp as I call 'em, at 4.30 a.m. and ESPN is showing it live, but since I'd be asleep I'm recording it. Dad still doesn't know that we have sports channels as they are locked by my brother, so I had to constantly unlock it and stuff, and my dad kept switching the cable box off so I had to on it, do the password, etc, until he caught me outside in the living room. I was actually studying but because the cable box was on, he thought I watched the telly. Well, I did, I watched Bjork's It's Oh So Quiet on MTV Alternative Nation, but that was it. Anyway, I finally found out how to unlock a channel so I went to unlock it. Hopefully he doesn't switch on the TV, or my brother, mother and I are dead.

3) I hate the O Levels. It should cease to exist. And I hate the fact that I have only one month off before school starts again. I didn't want to go to school for the first three months next year but I have to now, because of the dumb Humanities Scholarship. Argh. Like, if I don't get it in January and I want to apply in March, I'd have to give the application form to my junior college principal, which means I'd have to have a principal in the first place, which means I need to go to school. I'd rather work at some nice place as a cashier or something and get work experience, and money. That's so much more exciting than boring school.

4) The room smells of mosquito repellent. Disgusting.

5) Probably won't be able to update for a while. I've been saying it a lot but it's for real now. Exams start next week. Everyone wish me luck.

PS. I loved the Bjork song. Okay, I've never heard it prior to today, so what? Don't impale me on your musical stake just because of that. At least I know Bjork.

***

6.15 p.m.: Yet another goalless draw. Sixth winless match in a row. I'm devastated. That's it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010