football, fanfiction and fucking idiots
written: 7:39 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 24, 2002

First, I'd like to know who Jess is. You know, if you're gonna sign my guestbook to slag me off, at least leave an email or an URL. I mean, cowardly much? But it's okay, for you are human. Humans are infallible.

Which was very apparent in this morning's football match between Barcelona and Real Madrid. Okay, I didn't watch it live. I haven't even seen the whole thing yet. But my father couldn't sleep at night and he went into the living room to watch the telly. He caught the part when the Barcelona fans pelted poor Luis Figo with bottles when he took a corner.

I should explain. Barcelona and Real Madrid are not good friends. At least, their fans aren't. It goes way back to the 1920s when Real Madrid got the 'royal' title and Barcelona didn't, and um, I don't really understand the conflict because I don't know what a Catalan and another C-word are. But just know that Barcelona FC and Real Madrid CF hate each other's guts.

Now, Luis Figo, this wonderful footie player from Portugal, used to play for Barcelona until Real bought him for like, a few million euros or something. So he is considered a 'traitor' in the Barcelona camp. I don't blame them, but they seriously didn't have to assault him. The people surrounding the corner-kick area, whatever it's called, were yelling things inaudible to home viewers but I wouldn't be surprised if they were something along the lines of, "You fucking traitor, fucking burn in hell!" They were even flipping the third finger at him.

Which was completely absurd. One Barcelona player (Puyol I think, I'm not sure) attempted to calm them down but more bottles flew to the field, and the match was suspended for 13 minutes. It was a goalless match, but I thought the ref should've awarded Real Madrid a penalty to shut the stupid fans up.

It was only a small portion of fans, of course, but it annoying as hell. I don't really give a shit about the Real Madrid-Barcelona rivalry. In fact, I hate Racing Santader (sp) more than any other Spanish club in the world. It's just football. It's not a matter of life and death. English football fans riot all the time and it's become synonymous with the word 'football', and my mother even went as far as suggesting football is a dangerous sport. But it isn't. Sure, players trip and injure themselves all the time, but this happens in all sports, not just football.

I don't know why football fires people up more than any other sport. In fact, I don't know why fans don't fall asleep during games. I'd rather watch a live NBA match, thank you very much. You all know I slept at 3 a.m.; when watching snippets of the match that I taped, I wanted to sleep. Truly I did.

If it weren't for Iker, I wouldn't even bother with football.

Anyway, I continued my Slam Dunk crap today and finally got to the part when Mitsui makes an awesome come-back three-pointer. (For those who know the actual story, it was immediately after he cut his hair and after the fight in the gym. I twisted it a little, of course.) I had fun describing it. I had fun writing the whole thing thus far and that's the point. That's the point of it all.

I think I do suck as a friend. I forgot Claire's birthday and only realised I forgot 11 days later. I sent her a belated greeting but I haven't heard from her as of yet. Dammit, I think she's mad at me. I don't blame her. I hate myself for forgetting and I switch that hatred to the O Levels, because it's easier on the conscience to have a scapegoat, and the O Levels is an easy scapegoat because it was going on during her birthday.

I have another theory on why Claire isn't contacting me, and it does not involve broken computers, disconnected Internet access, yada yada technical faults. I'd rather not mention it.

Today is Sunday. Why is the Chinese version of 'Who Wants to be a Millionaire?' on on Sunday?

And Jess, I 'reek of that place'? Do you really think so? Have you read "To Kill A Mockingbird"? Do you remember the part when Scout comments on Atticus's usage of the phrase 'do you really think so?'

I hope you do.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010