now for the real entry
written: 5:58 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 25, 2002

So exams have finished. Which is good. But for me, exams have finished a long time ago.

Things I raised my skeptical eyebrow at today:

1. Pearl's very enthusiastic talk of "I'm so excited that today is the last day of the GCE and I couldn't sleep last night because I was so excited", yada yada yada.

2. Pearl telling me that my mates are thinking of wearing identical necklaces to the graduation shit on Thursday. Oh wait, they'd already bought a chain. They're just missing a pendant. This is the part where I roll my eyes.

3. Almost everyone else's cries of "Woo-hoo! Last day of exam!"

4. The Science teacher telling everyone that she was told the Chemistry and Biology papers were quite all right.

5. Some classmates' enthusiastic graduation talk.

Whatever. I don't even give a flying fuck about graduation, the O Levels, the end of exams, etc etc etc, on and on it goes, I just don't care. I'm happy it's over, of course, as it means I get to do my own shit without feeling guilty that I'm not doing school shit and without my parents harping in my ear all the time to go and study. And it means I get to focus my energy on my very stupid but fun-to-write Slam Dunk fanfiction. I mean, okay, I was already focusing my energy on it on Friday, but now, I get to do it without pretending to study for Biology/Chemistry/other useless stuff.

I wonder what happened yesterday. I was watching the Chinese charity show when I was informed that Holland Village and Clarke/Boat Quay were closed off temporarily. Those are some of Western tourists' favourite haunts.

The scrolling marquee news was in Chinese and it scrolled by too quickly for me to read every single word and digest because my Chinese sucks, but when the message finally sank in, I got a little scared. Just a little, for a few seconds. Holland Village is very, very close to home, more so than Yishun. I've never really spent a lot of time at Yishun before but I love Holland Village and it's quite near to where I stay. So I'm thinking maybe the government/security forces uncovered some stupid terrorist plan and so closed off the areas, but managed to thwart it because I haven't heard any news of buildings going up in flames thus far.

Granted, I haven't read the newspapers but I think something as serious as a terrorist attack right in Singapore would generate talks among my friends. So we're still safe.

Then again, it was raining quite heavily yesterday when they closed off those areas, so it could be due to that, but why? I don't know. I'd read the papers soon.

Jay Chou performed at the charity show. Ahhh I'm excited about his concert now. But I'd try to contain it because past experiences dictate that if I get too excited about something, when it's time to do that something the excitement will surely dissipate. Jay is ugly but he has a lot of charisma. I don't know how that works out. He went out of tune when he sang the first song ("An Hao", Secret, Secret Signal, etc.), but he did very well on the second ("Xing Qin", Star Love, whatever), which happened to be the first song of his that I liked. He signed a basketball, a genuine NBA basketball, to be auctioned off online. I want it.

Man, I'm tired. Felt lethargic throughout the insipid multiple-choice shit and couldn't wait for it to end. I guessed my way through as I was too busy writing out my Mitsui fantasy to study. Ah well. I don't care anymore.

*****

December 8, 2002, 3 a.m.: The Holland Village thing turned out to be some lousy bomb hoax. There wasn't any plan for an attack or whatever. It was just a hoax.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010