east asia
written: 4:57 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2002

Great. My previous entries' layout is still the purple one. Argh! I know it's a diaryland bug but this is the first time it has taken so long to switch to the new layout and I'm really annoyed!

Whatever though. So I went to the Esplanade library again and got a bunch of movies. Firstly, I got Part Two of Seven Samurai. I borrowed Part One without knowing that the movie is split into two tapes. I'm a little dense sometimes but overall, I'm a genius.

Seven Samurai is great. I watched Part One last night and laughed my ass off at that brute-ish guy, the samurai wannabe. He's funny. And I liked the young gun. He was so nice to the girl he wrongly assaulted, as he thought she was a boy. He gave her rice to eat. Sigh.

I think it's quite amazing how the director (Akira K-----, can't remember spelling) blended humour with angst. I thought it was going to be a depressing movie throughout. The farmers were robbed by a gang of bandits and they were on the verge of starving, and the opening scene showed the farmers huddled together in the middle of their village. One woman was crying and sobbing, and it was one of the saddest sounds I've ever heard. They almost gave up hope.

On the other hand, the brute-ish samurai wannabe I mentioned just now is a real joker. He's the humour aspect of the film, and yet he is connected with the people he's protecting. He lashed out at the farmers in one scene, calling them stingy and selfish, and he went on to blame it on the samurai, saying they were the ones who made the farmers who they were. And the way he ranted and cried hinted that he lived the farmer sort of life before. He never really confirmed that he's a farmer's son but you just kind of know.

It's a great movie. Everyone should watch. I got a real kick out of hearing this guy saying, "Kuso!" Haha. The characters in Slam Dunk say it all the time and it's supposedly the Japanese equivalent of 'fuck' or something like that, although it means 'damn', if I'm not wrong.

Anyway, Mom wanted to bring my brother and I to watch Harry Potter, but my brother, for some strange reason, refused. And I mean refused. I want to see it because it's Richard Harris's last movie although I haven't got burning desire to or anything, but my brother is supposedly a Potter fan. I don't know, I was really pissed off but it's all cooled off now.

My bleeding nailpolish is chipping all over the place.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010