fanfics and writing
written: 11:48 a.m. on Monday, Dec. 16, 2002

I decided to make Rukawa play one-on-one with Sendoh in my second Slam Dunk fanfic. So I spent a couple of hours early this morning writing out the challenge. It was hard. I don't play basketball, I only watch Slam Dunk and the NBA, so it was hard to describe the movements. Half the time I didn't even know what I was writing about. I mean, I don't think Sendoh falls for fakes as easily as I wrote that he does. Also, after I've exhausted my 'he moves to the left, I block, he goes to the right, I block', I was at a loss of what to write. I don't know how I managed to finish writing the whole one-on-one. (I did cheat by changing scenes and not making it a long, continuous one, but hey.)

And I couldn't think of alternative phrases to 'I slam the ball into the hoop.' I've been using those same words for every slam dunk that I made Rukawa execute and it's getting old. The worst thing is, I lost my dictionary/thesaurus (sp) and it was my only thesaurus, although it is a shitty one but at least I had one. I should've begged my mother to buy that awesome one I saw at MPH a few days ago that I fell in love with at first sight.

All in all, it was a good exercise. Writing about basketball, that is. I hardly ever describe sporting actions. I'm better with describing feelings. But I gotta branch out somehow, don't you think? I can't do feelings and emotions all the time. It gets old after a while.

I intend to finish this on-going fic, and the other Micchy one as well. I've never attempted anything with chapters before. If I finish them both, I'll reward myself by buying me new things. Like, I dunno, new underwear or something.

Besides, writing has distracted me from thinking about other stuff. Writing from Rukawa's POV does wonders to a person's mind. After a while you kind of start acting like him, giving people one-word replies and sometimes ignoring them completely. It's not easy to write about an Ice King, let alone from his point of view, but it is fun. How I love inserting my own sarcasm in the fic as Rukawa's. The best thing is, everyone seems to buy it.

Off to watch a repeat episode of Slam Dunk that I saw last Friday.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010