you'd think they'd be smarter than that
written: 5:34 p.m. on Sunday, May. 18, 2003

I broke my right contact lens while cleaning it yesterday. Mom ordered a new one for me and it's arriving in a week.

This means I have to wear glasses to school. And tomorrow I have P.E.

Bloody fucking dammit.

I forgot all about the Golden Point Award (local writing competition) and right now I'm trying to finish typing the things I'm thinking of submitting. The dateline is the 23rd of this month. Today is the 18th.

I could just... argh.

Sundays aren't a good day for schoolwork. I've been putting up with a headache the whole day. It seems like this happens to me every single bleeding weekend without fail.

Yesterday I was at some UN course thing. I can't remember if I mentioned it here but yeah, it was from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. I had to take a Chinese test earlier at 7 a.m. Did I know how to do it? No. Didn't know how to write a single fill-in-the-blank word.

What the hell though. I don't really care. The UN thing was okay. It was informative and the first speech on the relationship between the UN and the US was interesting. The thing is, it was too long. I couldn't concentrate anymore after lunch. My friends and I split after the talk on sustainable development, during tea break. I mean, after that was some essay presentation by finalists from certain JCs and I could really care less about that.

Mel was off about how we're 'rejects' just because we're from JJC. The lowest-ranked JC amongst all the JCs present there. In his opening address the MC or whoever mentioned every school but mine.

I was quite pissed. He was like, "This morning we have students from ACJC, RJC, Hwa Chong JC, Temasek JC, NJC, Nanyang JC..." I was waiting for "Jurong JC". But it never came.

Fucker. May I remind the entire world that the 'elite school' crap is merely a myth contorted by kiasu Singaporean parents to make their children suffer? And Mel's inferiority complex? What the fuck was that about? I didn't even give a shit.

That aside, they do treat you differently. I never felt it before because I was in an elite school for ten years but now that I have 'fallen from grace', I understand. I had the feeling that my friends and schoolmates and I were there as seat fillers and nothing else. People do judge you by the uniform you wear.

And fortunately for me, it just so happens that I really, really, honestly do not give the slightest shit.

Back to my typing of the fics. The double-spacing thing is slowing down my process.

And I'm really annoyed right now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010