this is the east
written: 8:37 p.m. on Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003

I'm on June vacation and I have to go to school every day this week. My mates are going back to SN tomorrow to get the O Level certificate but I can't go 'cause I have some shit lessons in the morning and some crap SAT course till 3.30 in the afternoon. To add to that, SN is miles and miles and miles away from JJC. To get there would take me at least an hour and a half.

I really don't have the energy and the mood to waste that kind of time.

Maybe I'll bring my brother's basketball to school tomorrow and shoot some hoops after the SAT thing.

But I'd have to bring my T-shirt and shorts along. That is so damn troublesome.

Bought new shoes today. Light blue Asics, Mitsui's shoe brand! God my shoes rock. Now I'm wearing the same brand of shoes as my beloved soulmate. Isn't that great? I think it is.

Right now my immediate goal is to become effectively bilingual, meaning to say that I want to be as well-versed in Chinese as I am in English. I know, it's a good goal and everything but I bought this amazing English-Chinese dictionary last week, which pretty much defeats my goal because... because... I'd be too reliant on the book and... um...

Fuck, I don't know. But it's a wonderful English-Chinese dictionary. It's incredibly detailed and has examples in it. And pinyin, which is definitely essential 'cause I can't recognise most Chinese characters, sad to say.

A lot of my current schoolmates think I sound like a non-Chinese speaker when I speak the language. And who was the first person to tell me that? Mr. Nerd. Interestingly, I was speaking normally when he said that but I think it's pretty funny, so a lot of times I fake it. I don't know why. I just think... I guess I do it for their sake sometimes. It's what they expect so I just deliver.

I actually speak pretty good Mandarin, sometimes even with a tinge of Taiwanese accent (I'm not kidding). Not everyone gets to hear it though.

But you'll be lucky to. Definitely lucky.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010