deal
written: 8:58 p.m. on Saturday, Jul. 05, 2003

You're the super-slacker!!
Homework?
What's that? Studying? Not in your vocabulary.
You hardly study and almost never do your work
and yet, by some divine intervention, you're
still surviving. And you come to school so un-
often, your teachers have pratically forgotten
that you even exist. Go, you slacker, you!!



Which Stereotypical Singaporean Student Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Too true, too true.

Is JJC the only school without mid-years for Year 1s? Because if that is the case, I don't see how I'm going to survive the promos.

I mean, JJC is a very hand-holding school. They take you nicely by the hand and tell you it's all going to be okay, feed you crap bit by bit, but I prefer the St Nicks way, where they bombard you with all that shit and just leave you to figure out the shit on your own.

I guess I just have to deal. I don't exactly have a choice.

Went Orchard with my SN friends today, to celebrate - and I'm using this word very loosely - Pearl's birthday. Was nice seeing them and all but I wasn't close to any of them, except my exclusive circle of friends, so it wasn't really that big of a deal.

I could write a melancholic piece reminiscing the past and all the great times I've shared with them but if I did that, I would be lying prettily through my teeth, so what's the point? Quel est le point?

I did write a bilingual poem for Pearl though. Four stanzas, each dedicated to their respective year in secondary school, each stanza mostly in English and ending in one Chinese line, except for the last stanza where I used Chinese to round the whole thing up.

Interestingly enough, I prefer the Chinese bits to the English bits. I was trying to create a 'walk down memory lane' kind of thing by writing about certain significant events that took place that we both had a part in. Unfortunately, I don't really remember much from secondary school, so in the end I did a really shallow piece and used Chinese to finish off the cornier parts.

I mean, saying things like, 'he ni gong tong de nian shao/yong yuan chun zai/wo xing zhong' in English is like... weird. Just imagine it, or read this: "The times I've shared with you will forever exist in my heart."

Can you feel your skin crawling? God, I certainly can.

This is one of those times when I'm thankful to be bilingual.

Although I would appreciate it if I could've phrased all those Chinese thingies in English.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010