most people are scum.
written: 8:15 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 30, 2003

now playing: ba du kong jian - zhou jielun

Edured the torture of selling flags at Orchard Road today. And I discovered a few things:

1. People are even worse than I'd originally imagined. Most of them don't bother giving you donations unless you approach them with the huge tin can and mumble, "Excusemewouldyouliketodonate?" Even so, a lot of them simply stalk past you without even looking at you. Others just glance at you and walk away. The polite ones are those who say no, shake their heads or whatever. The good ones are, obviously, those who give you a few coins. The ones that do automatically approach you are but a selected, precious few... in fact, I can count on one hand the number of people in total who automatically donated without me asking them to. Thank you. Very much.

2. Ang mohs are great targets. And they're generous with their coins too. This ang moh lady, a mother, gave me a bunch of coins and I was simply floored. This other ang moh guy dug into his pockets, dropped his coin, and when he turned to leave with a smile and a few kind words ("quite a lot you got there"), I noticed the Touch Community Service sticker on his sleeve which shows that he's donated before. And this ang moh guy in his forties was really nice too. Even smiled and everything. Said 'thank you' to me after taking the sticker. For all their faults they're actually pretty nice people. But course, this only applies to people aged twenty and over. The teenagers, as expected, don't give the slightest fuck.

3. The New Kid is a bloody joker. Without him I would've fell to my knees and banged my head repeatedly against the pavement right smack in the heart of Orchard Road.

I'm tired, and sweaty, and my mom's yelling at me to get off the computer, so I'll stop here.

This is my first time doing Flag Day and it sucks.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010