the sheer stupidity of censorship
written: 5:29 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003

The weather sucks. Schoolwork sucks. Not having a life sucks. My teachers suck. The principal sucks. Not having enough sleep sucks. The school building sucks.

And worst of all? I can't watch 15.

Have you ever heard of censorship under an R(A) rating? Why do they even bother censoring when it's R(A)? Does the government not trust its adult citizens to make informed choices about the type of movie that they want to watch? What's wrong with a close-up shot of the male genitalia (sp)? Fuck, I bet most of these adults are having sex anyway so it's not like they've never touched a penis before, let alone seen one. I'm 17 and god knows I've done both.

It's so painfully and annoyingly ironic that Singaporeans don't get to watch a Singaporean film in its entirety and Italians do. The film is competing at the Venice International Film Festival, a fact I'm extremely proud of, but it appears that the Powers That Be don't really feel the same way.

Violence is a fact of life. We see it everyday in the papers, in the news, in our homes. Sex is a necessity. Without sex there would be no population growth; without population growth there would be no citizens in the future; without citizens there would be no Singapore.

So why do they still try to pull the veil over our eyes? I'm just so disappointed. I understand the R(A) rating (even though the film is targeted at teenagers as it's rather beneficial and educational) but to screen it under that rating with cuts?

It's just so ludicrous and so typically SINGAPORE. And we still want to become an arts hub or whatever fucking shit. We don't even trust our own homegrown film-makers to tell it like it is without causing some social disruption or whatever shit along those lines.

What are we afraid of, exactly? Gangsterism is a fact. Not showing the movie wouldn't change a thing.

But perhaps screening it to younger audiences may deter gang violence. After all, education is nothing without real-life examples to support your hypothesis. Why do annoying Economics essays require examples when they want you to 'explain'? Because without those examples what you're writing about perfect competition and monopoly are ultimately empty and hollow. It has no substance.

Same goes for moral education. Why should I buy what you say about teen sex being wrong? Why should I believe you when you say that joining a gang is bad? Why should I? I don't experience any of these things. Am I supposed to accept it as the truth just because my teachers tell me so?

I don't think so. Without hard evidence moral education is a complete farce, mere bullshit, unsubstantiated and contrived.

It's just sad that Singapore's youth is missing out on a movie that could possibly change their lives.

Still, kudos to Royston Tan for daring to film it. We need more of such people in Singapore.

The movie was even featured in "Time" magazine...

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010