the utter stupidity of being dilligent
written: 6:41 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003

Saw a Jay Chou music video a couple of days back, the ~{H}Dj6~0`~} one. (Year Three Class Two.) It has this ping pong theme going on; the song uses a table tennis ball to create the background beats. So my darling ~{=BW~} plays this super table tennis player who's like, really good and all and he's competing in some table tennis competition for the number one spot. The song breaks, a teacher or someone says in an announcer-like voice, "Attention all students! I would like to praise a special student today! He brought glory to the school! Let's all learn from him!"

And we see Jielun doing all sorts of impossible, over the top and out of this world actions while hitting the tiny ball back to the opponent. And he got his dancers to dance with the table-tennis bat (?) too.

It was really funny. He actually used the basketball blind pass thingy behind the back to execute one of the moves. He was extremely cocky in it, which only makes me laugh.

So enough about him. I haven't updated for three days 'cause I couldn't find anything to shit about and also quite frankly, I wasn't bothered to write anyway.

If I'm not wrong today is the mid-autumn festival. Woo-hoo. Had a bite of green tea mooncake yesterday... it tastes weird. Quite nice though. Definitely has the distinct taste of green tea to it.

Have outgrown the tradition of holding laterns (didn't even do it with The New Kid at school last Friday during the mooncake fest concert) so am not doing it this year too. I had a great time with those things when I was a kid though. It was fun, certainly.

Right now I'm reading a Ben Elton novel, "High Society", so my writing or whatever is kinda influenced by the myriad slang terms present in the novel. I'll try to stop it 'cause it's quite irritating.

So today during History we were supposed to all do two political impact of colonialism essays and discuss in class. Just as the teach was about to start on the essays the Oversized Harlot, who sat right in front of her, started asking The Duck and Sammy behind him for the essay outline. I didn't know what was going on at first, until I heard Sammy say, "Oh, is it that day you didn't come?"

My brain went, "Eureka!" And I was proven right when the teach started getting pruny and all, her face all scrunched up and pouty, started on a mini lecture about how he should have the responsibility to ask for work from classmates when he's not in class, that kinda shit, and the Oversized Harlot went, "Okay", and the teach asked him if he did his essays and he was like, "No, I forgot", or whatever, and the teach got really bloody pissed off and asked him to get out.

Like a second thought or something she added, "In fact, all those who didn't do the essay just get out of the class now."

At first, nobody but the Oversized Harlot moved. Then, a few seconds later, his annoying friend, the Pretentious And Bloody Sissified Self-Proclaimed Linguist Who Enjoys Speaking Mandarin During GP And Literature Classes And Bloody Accent-Faker (Pretentious Bloody Accent-Faker for short), packed his things and followed the Oversized Harlot out, all the while with this stupid and irritating smile on his stupid fat face.

A slight disclaimer here. I'm not discriminating against fat people. The fact is simply that he's fat, not my fault, I didn't ask him to be fat and I just wanted to point that out, okay?

Back to the story. The two irritating jackasses left, and another moment of non-movement. Then, as if in some bloody comedy, 11/12th of the entire History cohort (minus god-knows how many absentees) got up from their seats and exited the lecture theatre, leaving behind two people from A3, two from A4 and my entire class, save for the Oversized Harlot and this one funny weirdo who was predictably absent.

I thought the teach would go stark-raving mad and start to stutter. But she didn't. She was, as a matter of fact, rather calm about the whole affair.

But guess bloody what? She didn't go through the fucking essays after all, all thanks to the fuckers who didn't do them. And I had to stay in that freezing LT till 10.30 a.m. while those who didn't do their work got the rest of the bloody day off.

If I'd known that was gonna happen, I would've pretended not to have done my work (though I didn't finish the essays) and left with the rest of them.

Moral of the story?

It never pays to be good.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010