war is peace, freedom is slavery, ignorance is strength
written: 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 13, 2003

On September 11 my school locked its side gate and didn't allow vehicles to enter the school at the front gate. They opened the latter only a crack for students to enter.

I found out later that it was some precautionary measure with respect to the second anniversary of 9-11, which I frankly find absolutely absurd. Firstly, no terrorist would want to bomb JJC; if they want to target JC students, they would target the ones with the brains, i.e. the top five junior colleges. JJC is obviously not one of them.

Secondly, so fucking what if they lock the gates? Planes fly by the school every other second. If terrorists really want to bomb us they can do it aerially, or pull a 9-11 and fly their planes into LT5, but then againn, it's not nearly tall enough, LT5.

I'm not going to lie and say that the horrors of September 11 still stay with me. They don't. September 11 was tragic, but so was October 12, 2002. Anyone knows the significance of the date? The Bali bomb blasts, my dear.

Sometimes I'm really tired of how the media explodes everything that the USA goes through. Their tragedies are more important than the rest of the world's, simply because they are currently the most powerful country in the world. Well, fuck me, but a human life is a human life. Just because you're American doesn't make you any more significant than a Singaporean, a Chinese, a British, an Australian, a Malaysian, an Indonesian, a Japanese, a Korean, an Israeli, a Palestinian.

So on September 11 I thought of the Mid-Autumn Festival, had nice mooncakes with nice Chinese tea, and read Ben Elton. Does this mean I don't have a heart? Does this mean that I don't care?

No, it doesn't. It just means that I've come to terms with the state of the world as we know it, and am no longer hoping for a change for the better.

(title of entry from Orwell's "1984")

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010