jay chou is a genius
written: 3:17 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2003

I know you're probably sick of hearing about him but I just have to say this.

Zhou Jielun a.k.a. Jay Chou is a bloody genius. �ܽ��������.

His two-tracks-plus-eleven-music-videos EP came out today and I went to buy it, of course. No comments on his MVs, 'cause I find it really hard to follow storylines in music videos (don't know why) but the vid for "Ti Tian" is damn good, but then again, the song in itself is bloody brilliant.

So yes, I have to say this. The two new tracks are... It's strange, I didn't think much of them when I first listened to the two songs. The first one (can't pronounce the title lah okay?) struck me as being typically teenybopperish; t reminded me a lot of Western boybands' sappy love ballads. The second track, ���˵��� (I think it's that ��), "Broken Melody", had a chorus that sounded like the opening bars of the first track. And it was quite ordinary too.

But then I put the two songs on repeat-all, listened to Jielun's melodic, melancholic voice singing, as if only to me, listened to the words that he didn't pen coming straight from what seemed to be the very depths of his soul, as if he meant every single word, and I got this sense, like I've reached an understanding of sorts, maybe with him, and I'm no longer disappointed.

He has that uncanny effect on his listeners, or maybe it's just me. I'm picky with my music and I don't listen to crap. But he has managed to win me over anyway, even though the two songs are relatively mediocre.

He is just so... he just never fails to amaze me, even after four albums and forty-three songs. And who can forget the songs that he's written for other singers? When he sings crappy ballads he does so with an edge of tragic despair to his voice, so that it sounds as though he's almost crying. In Chinese I would call it ������ʹ��.

Yeah, I'm just a really happy duck right now. And his five-minute "acting debut" with less than ten lines comes out on Thursday.

This week is really a very Jielun week. And I'm supposed to attend Maths lecture today but I'd rather spend my morning sleeping, thank you very much.

I just don't want to do anything school-related this week. I'm tired and I want to rest. The past month has been really taxing and draining, tiring and exhausting. I hate to subscribe to such a lame analogy but yeah, my battery is flat and I need to recharge it.

Just let me indulge in my Jielun-filled happiness and bliss for a while longer, can? I'll snap out of it and... revise... really soon.

I think.

PS. Slam Dunk #12 in English came out today. That's really fast.

this entry requires chinese simplified encoding.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010