sympathy for the devil
written: 12:06 a.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2003

I just joined a bunch of fanlistings. I was bored. Still am, in fact, as I sit here, waiting for inspiration to strike so that I can write a good article on the bloody camp for... a purpose. And there's this loud, persistent ringing in my left ear and I think I'm going deaf.

No, I'm not. It occurs fairly often for a fairly short period of time but this time it's not relenting. It's disturbing. And I'm distracted. But I'll stop talking about it.

So they got Saddam Hussein. Insert obligatory cries of jubilance (if that's a word) and whatnot here. Now, I know all the arguments against the man: he's a tyrant, he caused the suffering of his own countrymen, he's a threat to global security, he's one of the "axis of evil", yadayadayada, blah blah fucking blah, I know it all. And I think he's quite a bloody bastard as well. But when I saw him on TV, having a quick dental examination, when I read about his living arrangements for the past few months, when I see that haggard and dishevelled mug plastered every day on the front page of the Straits Times and read about his capture, well, I hate to say this, but my heart goes out to him, however little.

Don't shoot me yet. You're reading the words of the same girl who feels sympathy for Jack the Ripper. So I'm a bit fucked up, but, I mean, you gotta feel sorry for the man. He lived in a hole, for crying out loud, with a gun and a knife or something along those lines. If that doesn't exude insecurity and fear, I don't know what does. Granted, he probably deserves it and I think he does, but I feel sorry for him anyway. Imagine having your pride slung through dog shit all over the world like that. Imagine falling from grace and landing hard on your arse and the bruise isn't gonna go away, not in a few months' time and definitely not in a week's time. And imagine being captured by Americans when you're this staunch (sp) Arab person...

Well, I'm not exactly eloquent now, but you get my point, don't you? Nothing against Americans, of course, but if I were Saddamn (TOUCH WOOD!), I wouldn't want to be captured by them either. I'd rather die in the hands of my own people... No wait, I wouldn't. I'd rather die in my own hands. I'd take that gun and shoot myself in the head if I were Saddamn. What the fuck is the point of him living on anyway? He might as well have signed his own death warrant when he made the strange decision of not killing himself.

I mean, there's no way in hell the world's gonna let him off. And I think, to a certain extent, he's definitely got to pay for all the atrocities he's committed, but if I may digress a little, using the death penalty on him isn't worth it. Why waste all that resources on some arse, right?

Seriously though, I'd think that he'd be persecuted in the International Criminal Court or whatever the hell it's called, instead of an Iraqi one, so that it would be fair. Is it just me or does "fairness", "Saddamn Hussein", "trial" and "Iraqi court" just don't go togther? I don't know. I guess it's just me.

And there was some other point that I wanted to make but dammit, I forgot what it was. Fuck. I hate it when I forget things to say in the middle of an entry; it makes me look stupid as hell. It happens quite often too, nowadays, and I don't know why and it's bugging me that I'm forgetting things so easily. And the worst part? Those thoughts never come back.

But yeah. Saddamn Hussein. Sympathy for the devil but he's gotta pay his dues. And for those who're expecting peace in Iraq just because one Saddamn H. is captured... well, all I can say is, stop dreaming. Thank you.

All right, I'll move on now. Watched "Love Actually". I liked. Watched "Brother Bear" the day before. I liked too. Watched two other movies, both rentals. I liked "Punch Drunk Love". It was... weird. Adam Sandler, however surprising he was, is still perpetually "The Waterboy" and whatever dumb-arse roles he's played, and so I couldn't shake that image of him out of my mind. It affected the movie a bit but not enough to make me wanna hurl tomatoes at my TV screen.

And now I'm going to write the fucking article.

If you haven't already signed the guestbook, do it now. Don't be an arse.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010