another day has gone by
written: 7:31 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 05, 2004

Golden Rule of Writing Which Yelen Has Recently Decided To Adopt #1:

Your characters, especially the protagonist, must change at the end of your story no matter what, depending how that change fits with the plot and the overall aim of the piece that you are writing. Nobody wants to read shit about irritating people that commit wrongs and don't see the light even at the end... except when the change is no change, but this is a point that is still rather fuzzy so I'd expound upon it at the later date, if I ever succeed in trying to get my head around it.

Yes, for those who've seen "Adaptation", I got that from the film. It was one of the many profound things that stay with me, that I remember. And who can forget the trashing that the McCain (I think?) guy gave to Charlie Kaufman when the latter asked a question during the former's screenwriting workshop? That was so funny.

Not surprisingly, I haven't even sat down to write out the plot outline of the Commonwealth Essay that I'm intending to write. I have it in my head already, and luckily I haven't forgotten it or I'd be really pissed with myself, but I should write it down anyway.

Maybe on Friday, after orientation camp.

And tonight I have to rush my fucking Econs homework. Got a message today in school; have to hand in latest by Wednesday, or I'd be sent to some seriously fierce teacher whom I've never heard of, but we want to avoid that at all costs, don't we? And since I'd be in camp on Tuesday I can't do it then, so I have to do it today even though I'm completely worn out and tired and dying after a few hours of cheering today.

Yeah so I'm pathetic but so what?

I sense myself turning into one of those annoying fuckheads whom I found annoying when I was going through orientation, but that's just the way it is. A year ago I called cheering 'juvenile' and now I'm supposed to be enthusiastic about it. Why am I doing this? It's not for the CIP hours, because I don't even need those meagre few hours; I have more than enough to get me an A for community involvement. It's not for the school spirit or whatever either, as I obviously have none.

I don't know what the hell I'm doing at orientation camp but there you go, I am. I'd probably never figure it out. Just like most things I try to understand.

The third finger of my left hand hurts. Keep peeling off the skin around the fingernail, layer after layer. Bad habit.

I will learn to do a lay-up before I die. Yes, I will. I must. I wish I could play basketball during Wednesday's sports carnival but I can't. Isn't that completely devastating?! I think it isn't.

I should go shower now.

Took a nap after I had lunch. Felt damn good to sleep.

Oh, and my right contact lens killed the living shit out of me today. Fucking thing kept sliding up my fucking eyelid. Couldn't even see properly for a while; had to squint like some weirdo.

I may love my lenses but right now they're really giving me a terrible headache. And I'd choose vanity over comfort anytime, anywhere, without a shadow of doubt.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010