and all the frogs go (clap) sha la la la la
written: 8:53 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 08, 2004

Haven't written in three days. Not that it's my fault. Came back from orientation camp today and despite taking a nice, well-deserved four-hour nap in the afternoon, I still feel completely enervated and drained and lifeless. And I really don't feel like attending classes tomorrow, especially since I haven't even begin to complete my homework, but we shan't get into that now.

So this entry is going to be fairly long. Brace yourself or skip it. Whatever lah.

To sum orientation up: FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN NO LESSONS FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN TIRING FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN SORE THROAT and did I mention FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN? Even though I hate camps and never wish to sleep on the floor ever again, I think the experience was well worth all the shit that I had to put up with. For one, I had to serve food and I never serve food; food is served to me. For another, I had to clear some rubbish and of course, I never clean up. Yes, I admit, I'm spoilt, but what can we do, right?

Day One, January 6, 2004

Um, fuck, I can't really remember right now what happened. And I lost my programme list so I can't refer to that; gonna kill whoever took it and forgot to return to me. Bloody bugger. Uh, let me think... Okay, because I'm lazy, I shall write in point form.

1. Assembled in the hall in the morning. Took attendance (Mel did, not me), gave out family identities a.k.a. props, collected F&N Grape cans, etc. Six absentees from my group; not bad as compared to what happened last year, what with people like Tong cutting orientation left and right and all.

(Can I just mention at this point of time that my throat really hurts and I'm craving for chocolates right now?)

2. In the morning: Mass dance in the hall. Went mad with Mel until doing the same dance over and over got repetitive and I started to not be bothered to do it properly, just like how I did the dances back in secondary school, taking two steps when I'm supposed to take four, step to the right when I'm supposed to jump, lovely things like that. And after that (or was it before?) that there was a skit; Cody and Crazy Funny Dude acted. They were damn funny. And the skit was soooo much better than last year's, which was fucking lame and I, as a new student, sat in the hall, watched the joke that unravled before my disbelieving eyes and mentally went, "What the fuck?" every other second. With the exception of Triaz who played some Greek god or other, last year's skit was shit; too much Singlish, so that it became repetitive. This year, however, good English was attempted, so I was glad.

3. The activity that followed was some treasure hunt thing. OGLs had to stay in the hall and we weren't allowed to follow our OGs as they were supposed to get themselves familiarised with the school compound without our help, and if that didn't make sense to you, don't despair, as it doesn't make sense to me either. There were two parts to the treasure hunt thing and for the second one, Mel and I went down to see what was happening and in the end we ended up running all over the school looking for a stupid leaf for our OG. And we found it! Bwahahahaha that was good.

4. Orienteering, a.k.a A Royal Fucking Waste Of Time and Energy, was up next, after a crappy lunch whereby the councillors forgot the vegetarian food and the three vegetarians, including myself, in Family One had to wait and yeah it was quite shitty, but um, what was I talking about? Oh right, orienteering. Basically, we were supposed to walk aimlessly like morons all around the Boon Lay area, which is where the school is located, under the hot sun and getting all worn out for no reason. Yep. Luckily it rained for a bit so it was cut short; if it really started at 1 p.m. instead of 2 p.m., I wouldn't be here typing this now.

A funny thing that happened: One of our stops was the fire station, and we had to perform a task whereby five members of the group were firemen and the rest were injured and the firemen had to help the injured people from one point to another. And there was a person with a special injury: mental illness. This role was supposed to be performed by an OGL, and guess who my group's instructor picked?

No, not me; Mel. And her story? "Okay guys, listen up. I'm suffering from mental illness. I was in a car accident and I believe that I'm a Vietnamese prostitute."

When everyone had gone across and she was the only one left, she sat down on the grass and started SCREAMING AWAY, like, "American soldier ah! Sharky sharky (or whatever; blow job)! Five dollahs!" Hahahaha! It was fucking hilarious; I couldn't stop laughing.

I just bit real hard into my apple and the juice splattered onto the monitor. Cool.

Anyway, my OG was late getting back from orienteering, and we attempted to run the last stretch but many of them were too tired to run all the way back to school. Not that I blamed them; I myself, was dying. If I have to do orienteering again I will definitely murder somebody. It was so tiring and looking back, I have no idea how the fuck I managed to muster up energy to scream like some crazy woman during the wet games a while later, like fifteen minutes or so later, but yep, I did. Don't really have a choice anyway; if the OGLs don't cheer, nobody in the group will. We don't really have any really outstanding members that can really really rally up a group, but my group is damn cool anyway, because I said so.

So the wet games were crazy and I didn't know until then that I can actually shout at the top of my lungs continuously for like, five minutes, while running up and down a short stretch of um, concrete, attempting to cheer my members on while they went through the games. I basically went, "One two three! Go go go! Hurry hurry six seven eight nine ten OKAY now go go go!" It was fun. I love Swimming Pool; got to soak my sweaty and sticky self in dirty water with like, fifty other people. Hahahahahaha. The water got into my mouth when the people around me were splashing each other though, and it tasted salty. YUCK.

Mad long queues for the shower; poor Year Ones had to fight with each other to clean themselves. Luckily I got to shower when they were having some fuck-boring talk in LT5. Mel and I, being total geniuses, found a new showering room in the canteen, and we checked into the boys' showering room and showered there. Oh my god, there was a REMOVABLE SHOWER HEAD and HOT WATER! Amazing!

Well, I can't complete this entry today, as it's 9.55 already and I'm still not halfway done and I need to do work so um, yeah, to be continued. Wahoo.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010