an actual update
written: 7:39 p.m. on Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004

I haven't been doing much of late. I made good of my promise not to update this frequently, but ironically, I haven't written in my diary in three days as I was too bleeding lazy to. I mean, seriously, writing with a pen makes my wrist very very sore and half the time, I'm too mellow for that kind of non-torture.

So it's the one-week holidays. Yes. How nice. I've been trying to get into the swing of studying diligently for the November 'A' Level exams but... okay, simply put, I spent an entire afternoon doing not more than 7 first order differential equation questions, which isn't exactly my idea of a fruitful afternoon. My bid to ace the A Levels has taken yet another arduous turn. Great. I think I'm destined to disappoint myself for the rest of my goddamn life.

I watched Running on Empty again today, for perhaps the millionth time. When I rented the video back in 2001 I watched it five times in three days. It's that good. And although I can pretty much anticipate every other dialogue and I know the entire story by heart, I still wanted to cry anyway when the film ended. It's a bloody fantastic family drama that still manages to touch my icy cold heart. And I actually found the romance between Danny and Lorna (River Phoenix and Martha Plimption respectively) sweet and not at all phony. Maybe it has got something to do with the fact that River and Martha dated for three years but whatever it is, it didn't make me want to puke.

I've been watching a lot of movies lately and it makes me very happy. Infernal Affairs, Freaky Friday, Big Fish, Death to Smoochy, just to name a few. I absolutely loved Inferal Affairs, despite the fact that I was watching a dubbed movie. "Great" barely sums the film up. I don't really go for Hong Kong cop/triad dramas as a lot of them are totally hackneyed and predictable, but �޼�� was brilliant, absolutely brilliant. It was suspenseful, it was humane, it had a plot that was intelligent. Too bad Hollywood just has to get its greedy paws on it and remake it. I mean, so what if Scorsese is doing it? It's starring BRAD PITT. What the fuck. Whose role is he trying to fill? Tony Leung's? I'm sorry but Brad Pitt can never be half the actor that Tony Leung is. I'm more in favour of Leonardo DiCaprio because I think he's talented but still, they would never live up to the kind of work that Tony Leung and even Andy Lau has created.

All right, so enough about movies. My classmate finally sent me the photo that Mel and I took with The Asshole after DramaFest. What a timely... time, but screw it. I'm just gonna keep it anyway, for memories' sake.

Seriously, my life is mundane and dull and I don't know what else to say so I'll stop here.

Oh, and I just remembered that I was going to write something about the political conflict between Taiwan and China but my father's chasing me off the computer now, so maybe I'll do that another time.

Just let me say first, though, that I am all in favour of an independent, sovereign Taiwan. Yes, you heard me, Taiwan should be independent. Why? Because, apart from skin colour, Taiwan has pretty much nothing in common with China. However, Chen Shui-bian annoys the living fuck out of me 'cause he's like the personification of the word 'crass' so I hope the Kuomintang wins the election.

Okay, so my opinion is heavily influenced by my dad's, but he's a learned Taiwanese so I trust him.

Till next time.

this entry requires chinese simplified encoding

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010