politics
written: 10:46 p.m. on Saturday, Mar. 20, 2004

I shouldn't be writing this as I have to finish four History essays but I just couldn't help myself.

All right, I am going to talk shit about Taiwanese politics now, as if I know what the hell I'm going to talk about but let's pretend that I am really intelligent to comment, all right? Awesome.

Apparently, Chen Shui-bian of the DPP won the election. I say 'apparently' for a few reasons:

1. The percentage difference in votes was a mere 0.23%, or thereabout; in other words, less than one percent;

2. 2.5% of the ballots cast were null;

and most importantly,

3. He was shot yesterday, a mere grazing of the skin by the bullet, which raises a few questions that in turn casts the entire election itself in a dubious light.

The wacky and retarded part of me was inclined to believe that Beijing orchestrated the shooting, but today's result proves that my previous notion makes pretty much no sense. Why would Beijing elect a president who gives them trouble? But seriously now, I'm just mentioning my passing joke that "China did it". Let's now move on.

It seems quite ludicrous that one would even entertain the fleeting thought that Chen staged the shooting himself, got someone, his henchman, perhaps, to shoot him amidst firecrackers and near-mayhem while he cruises down the streets of Tainan, but I don't think he's incapable of such a cheap way to get votes. And I'm not alone in thinking that either. Today's papers ran a couple of stories on the conspiracy theory, and my dad called from Taiwan this evening, saying that Chen got himself shot on purpose.

Whether he did or not hardly mattered, for there were people imbecilic enough to cast the sympathy vote. Before the shooting incident, Kuomintang was leading. They were supposed to win.

This is why Chen apparently won, and this is also why the KMT called for a nullification of the election and they are now waiting for a court decision.

Pretty exciting, eh? I think so too.

I can't exactly profess to know enough about Taiwanese politics to make an informed judgement, but I think we all know that Ah Bian has been ruffling China's feathers for quite a bit now. And he isn't exactly the most cultured person in the world. Just listen to the way he talks. 'Orh' hu cang long, indeed.

(For non-Chinese speakers, I am referring to his pronounciation of 'Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon', which is 'Wo Hu Cang Long' in Mandarin.)

I'm just imagining the amazing show I'd be treated to if it's found out that Chen really did orchestrate and plan his own shooting. He'd be ousted for sure and the KMT would come into power once again.

And who can forget the Taiwanese penchant for rioting and violence and mayhem?

I watched the Taiwanese news this evening and I saw a boy of about five at the KMT camp waving a Taiwan flag.

You see, that is the stark difference between them and my country. Politics in Singapore are pretty much a joke, if you want my humble opinion. What is politics without freedom of speech? You get slapped with a defamation suit just for saying the words "PAP" (Singapore's ruling political party) and "crap" in the same breath.

I guess a lacklustre political scene is simply the price we pay for stability, but does it have to resort to such a state? In Taiwan they are passionate, in the USA they care, etc etc etc.

In Singapore? We go to sleep happy as long as we get our monthly salary.

ANYWAY. Back to Taiwan.

Well, I've said all that I wanted to say. I think I mentioned before that I am quite against reunification but I can't see Taiwanese independence happening anytime soon, and China seems quite set on using military action against Taiwan if it starts pressing for independence, which is why Chen shouldn't really be President anymore.

And really, what the hell is his referendum supposed to achieve? Obviously one would want peace talks with China. Is war a better option then?

Off to do the damn History essays.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010