no, i am not going to type another insipid title here
written: 6:28 p.m. on Monday, Apr. 12, 2004

Yep, haven't updated for a week. Was too lazy to. Nowadays I come online mainly to post at Jay-Chou.net, because it's fun and because I can.

I watched the Passion of the Christ last Tuesday. It was excruciating. I thought I would be able to stomach the graphic violence since I thought I was desensitised to things like that, but it turned out that ten minutes into the film, and I was already cringing. After Jesus was captured his captors put a chain around him, going 'round his neck, and whilst they were walking up this hill thingy, Jesus fell and hung off the mini bridge by his neck, and well, I was like, "Shit, this is gonna be really bad."

And indeed it was. The scourging scene was excruciatingly painful. After a while Mel and I resorted to hiding behind our bags.

I didn't watch the crucifixion scene in its entirety as I didn't want to see them hammer the nail into his hands and feet. I mean, what's the point? To me it's just a film, 'cause I'm an atheist and all, so it didn't really matter.

All things considered, I thought it was a really good film. Very powerful and beautifully-shot. And I don't doubt Mel Gibson's religious integrity at all. He is really, really passionate about his religion and he's really devout, and for that I respect him because it's so real, and he manifests his devotion in such a beautiful film. And I think the violence was necessary because he wanted to depict the exact torture that Jesus went through for his believers. That's very noble, if you ask me.

And the shit that Jim Caviezel (sp) went through to play Jesus... my goodness. Who can ever top that? He did a great job too.

The scene that moved me to near tears was the scene between Jesus and Mary. He was being paraded through the streets, carrying the cross on his back after being scourged (well, I'm sure we all know that) and he fell a few times. Mary was around, she saw him fall, and it was this very real and human mother instinct that drove her to run to him and help him up, much like how she did the same when he was a kid and fell while doing something or other. It was like, this very very real bond and love between a mother and her son and it just really touched me.

So yeah, I thought it was an excellent film, horrible violence aside. Everyone should watch it.

Apart from that, I haven't been doing anything. Yeah, Econs test this week and I have my knickers all tied up in a knot over it so this basically means I am practically dead right now. Worse, I have the essay questions but I don't know how to go about writing outlines for them. I don't want to fail. I haven't failed any Econs tests this year but my results have been painfully average, and like Mr. Nerd said, "If you're average in JJ, it means you suck." I fully agree with him.

Shit, I need at least a B for the upcoming test then. Great. Let's all bring on the pressure, yeah?

So anyway I was in the hall the entire day, involved in this defence seminar thing for the Year Ones and I'm supposed to be on the panel of discussion or whatever shit. It's this military thing where people talk about national service. So yeah there was this completely drop-dead gorgeous guy there and I was like, "WHOA."

And no, I didn't say a word to him. It's time I stop embarrassing myself. Haha.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010