yeah.
written: 6:10 p.m. on Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004

Yesterday was the S Cube Seminar. It was for the Year Ones. So why is it my business? Well, because I basically threw my face away simply by going up there and attempting to sound intellectual but how the hell can that be done in this day and age of political correctness, a.k.a the worst kind of stupidity to ever grace the consciousness of humankind?

(Being politically-correct is good but I think nowadays it's gotten to an extent where it's just fake and awfully superficial. Nobody truly knows what another person is thinking anymore. We're avoiding talking about our true feelings because it's not the "PC" thing (and I say "PC" with contempt and snide) to do. Damn, it's stupid.)

On the bright side, it went along quicker than I'd imagined and I prepared too many questions and spent the time asking things I weren't even remotely interested in. Like females in NS. I don't care. If females ever had to serve compulsory national service, I won't be affected because by then, I'd probably be like, 80. But I had to ask that because... okay, I just wanted something to say 'cause I was afraid to be the only one out of the four of us who didn't ask a question. But it turned out that I, along with Meg Ryan, asked the most questions.

The only answer to my questions in which I was interested was the one regarding the controversial White Horse policy. I thought it was this label given to ministers' sons and other sons of other influential people in Singapore, to set them apart from us commoners, but apparently, it's negative discrimination in the sense that if an officer or whomever were caught doing special favours for these people, some repercussions would be felt. And apparently the policy was scrapped 4 years ago because... hmm, I don't remember.

But I'm just wondering why in the world didn't the public know about this white horse thing if it's such a gallant and noble attempt at marginalising discrimination. I'm wondering if it had the opposite effect, and if so, if that is the reason for its eradication.

Oh well, in the long run, I wouldn't care anyway.

And no, the hot guy I saw last Monday wasn't there yesterday. This other hot guy was though. I could've sworn he was looking at me when I was standing by the stage, waiting for our cue, but the fact still stood that I was supposedly a representative of my school and thus I couldn't do jack shit. Argh. The agony of life is truly painful, let me tell you, to the point of near tears if I weren't such a cold, unfeeling bitch.

Anyway, I gotta speed this up 'cause I want to go to Jay-Chou.net.

This Friday's gonna be grand because I'm gonna watch "Taipei 21", an arthouse film from, obviously, Taiwan. It's a part of the 17th Singapore International Film Festival, my first film fest, and next Saturday I'd be going for another Taiwanese film and a Japanese one.

Cool, hey? I wanna watch the closing film (a Taiwanese film -- I can't help it, I have a thing for Taiwanese arthouse) but it's freaking S$21.50 and I don't have the money. And I think it's a bit too much to fork out more than ten dollars to watch a film, so what the hell. I'll just look for it at the end of the year when I go to Taiwan.

Wow, I'm going back to Taiwan. Finally. In December, but I can wait, as long as I get to go back to my primary school, see if the cousin who is the same age as me has grown into a cutie as I'm guessing, go to the Chiang Kai-shek memorial hall and relive alllllll my childhood memories, shop a lot, buy a lot of Jay Chou stuff, attend some Jay Chou event if there'd be one, go to the night market, have a bowl of beef noodles (without eating the beef) at Taoyuan Street, go to the shopping district... oh goodness, I could go on forever! Oh and I want to stand below the apartment in which I used to live and take some photos.

Yes, excitement is building up and it's only April. I can only imagine the state of delirium I'd be in when it's November and when I'm done with the horrible 'A' Levels. Wahoo.

I got a B for Literature. The Paper 8 teach walked out of my class today after scolding us for not bringing the damn file and for not doing the checklist shit correctly. We're supposed to have this checklist thingy when analysing unseen extracts but whatever.

I made use of the free time and got myself something to eat. I was positively starving. Kept urging her in my mind to hurry up and piss off so that I could satiate my hunger.

And no, I don't give a shit.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010