an era forgotten.
written: 8:51 p.m. on Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004

I took a nap this afternoon.

Before that, I watched Wong Kar Wai's "In The Mood For Love" and read Joyce Carol Oates.

In my sub-consciousness I narrated the film's plot in Oates's style of writing. Fragmented sentences, ethereally beautiful sentences, words that I could never conjure up in full consciousness, and when I woke, I lost them all.

They might as well have never existed, they might as well be a whisper from the past, just a soft, hushed voice grazing my earlobes ever so gently, and I would never have believed that it happened if it weren't for the lingering emotions it left, if I weren't aware of its residue, when I woke up for good.

***

What the hell, the above three paragraphs were crap. I am so... I don't even know what I am.

To complete this already-doomed entry, I'll talk emotionlessly about today.

Went to school for Econs lecture on international trade. Would be interesting stuff if it weren't for (you're gonna see it coming) this bloody shitty headache I had the entire time. Bleeding hell. I was absolutely dying in there. And JJC has the worst AVA room ever. It's small and dingy and I just don't feel like doing anything productive in there.

Then again, the whole school is falling apart. Why bother keeping up with it? Just abandon the whole compound lah.

(When I slip in Singlish phrases, it's a clear sign that I am not in a good mood.)

I liked "In the Mood For Love". Cain said it's a slow film so I was expecting something like "Elephant" and "Bu Jian" (by my sweetie darling Lee Kang-sheng, for the last time, and I can't believe I just typed 'sweetie darling'; that should be erased from a person's mind for good because it is corruptive) but it wasn't that slow. Beautiful stuff though and I adored the music.

But I wonder what's the significance of setting it in 1962 Hong Kong, if there's a significance at all. Probably thinking too much; I definitely was doing the reading too much into nothing thing when I thought there was a symbolism behind the myriad MRT scenes in Edward Yang's "Taipei 21" but nope, there wasn't, and I'm rather convinced that half of practical criticism is about reading too much into absolutely jack shit but we shan't digress into that right now.

So where was I? Right, 1962. I thought the entire film was this parable of sorts about loss, about how one misses something which one should have held on to, if only one had known better and oh my god Tony Leung Chiu-Wai is so so so so so amazing I can't believe the amazing work he did he is so so so so so so so WONDERFUL.

All right, I am incoherent and I need to do some Econs work which I forgot about and it's due tomorrow so yeah this is it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010