eh yeah.
written: 6:57 p.m. on Friday, Jun. 11, 2004

So I watched "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" on Wednesday with Mel and I was completely blown away.

What a beautiful film. What a deeply complex, mind-boggling parable about love. It even moved me, the Eternal Cynic.

I found Alexander Pope's poem, from which the line is taken, and oh my god, it is mammoth. There's no way I can get through it in one piece. I can't even remember its title, for chrissakes. And sad to say, I wasn't aware that it was taken from an 18th century poem, the title.

I think if I printed it out, it would total up to twenty pages.

I'm disoriented from drinking coffee at 5 so I'm not really thinking straight.

Was supposed to go for CCA camp but Mel decided at the last minute that she doesn't feel like going so I'm free. Yay. I didn't want to go at all, and only agreed because she's going and since I am nice (ha, ha, ha) I decided to accompany her. So glad she decided not to go though.

But really, I am sick. Feel a sore throat coming on. That isn't good. Yep yep.

Took my second prac crit test yesterday. Spent seven hours doing it. Hahaha. Seriously, I am so smart that I really amaze myself. Who else can spend seven whopping hours on a three-hour paper and still not complete her essay?

But I wasn't in an exam mood and I wasn't mentally-prepared to do a test so you can't blame me.

Yeah, right.

On the bright side, I liked Fleur Adcock's "Knife-play". Gave me a bloody headache trying to get my head around it but I enjoyed it anyway.

On the down side, I found Frank O'Connor's "A Guest of the Nation" a bit too obvious. They also asked for narrative technique which is style but I don't know how one defines that or how one describes that so I couldn't really do that essay at all, even though the subtext was very obvious.

But really, what is a narrative technique? As far as I'm concerned I read a story, I like it, it moves me, end of story. I can't really be bothered about the writer's technique or whatever.

Then again, I'm light-headed so I don't really know what I'm on about. I do know that I need to buy a book on practical criticism though, and soon, or my Lit is in serious irrevocable trouble.

I don't really want to continue to commit academic suicide, thank you very much.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010