goats and monkeys
written: 9:20 p.m. on Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004

Had lunch with Ben at Jurong Point today. I was there early so I took a spin around Esprit and bought two shirts. I was going to buy this short-sleeved shirt after considering the very intriguing fact that most of the shirts in my closet are sleeveless - a trend started in the year 2000 that has not discontinued, apparently - but in the end, I decided not to.

I didn't like it that much anyway. And I really don't understand Esprit's love affair with Lycra. What's the deal with Lycra? The blue top I got today is Lycra and I didn't know until I got home and found out. Oh well, the colour is nice and it goes well with this skirt I have so why not.

Actually, I could give you a reason why I shouldn't have spent the S$61.80. A few reasons, I should say:

1. Last Monday I spent a little over a hundred dollars on two Ripcurl sling bags (and for the record, I bought them because I liked the designs, not for the brand because I couldn't care less about surf brands, truth be told);

2. And the amount above did not include the sixteen dollars I spent on lunch at Fish $ Co. with Angela;

3. I am a student without an income and ever since my mom transferred most of my money to some shitty fixed deposit account, I never had more than a thousand dollars in my POSB account; and

4. After spending and withdrawing twenty bucks because I had no cash with me, I discovered that I only have $250 in my account.

That is a far cry from the $410 that was supposedly in my account, before I withdrew 60 bucks to pay for one of the Ripcurl bags and...

The point is, I spend too much. Shopping is like an addiction. It is an addiction. I am officially a shopaholic. Just last week I vowed not to spend money for six months but a week later, I bought more clothes.

And I still haven't got any more skirts. Shit. (Not really my fault that Esprit has the shittiest skirts ever.)

At the rate I'm going, I really would have to sell out. I would need an income in the future to support my spendings. I am a bottomless pit when it comes to spending money/buying things, especially clothes. It is my biggest weakness, right next to being lazy.

I didn't even tell my mom that I bought two tops today. If I hadn't left one of the price tags on the bed for my pesky brother to pick up and go, "Wah, so expensive ah, 39 dollars!" my mom would never even know that I bought clothes today.

And I would've bought Her World magazine, for the cool bag, if it weren't for the fact that I couldn't find any newsstand that sells copies that come with the yellow one.

***

Anyway, lunch at Mos Burger with Ben was cool. Haven't seen the dude in the longest time and I wouldn't get to see him for an even longer period of time; he's going to New Zealand next Tuesday for like three years, minimum.

As of right now it still hasn't sunk in that one of my friends is leaving the country. It hasn't happened to me. I mean, yes, one of my classmates and another schoolmate of mine who was in my primary five and six class left for Australia and Boston respectively but I wasn't very close to them so I didn't really care, as callous as that may sound.

But Ben is not like them. I consider him one of my better mates and I'm not really one that gets along with others easily; in fact, the opposite would be much closer to the truth. I don't know, it's just weird.

Whatever it is though, glad I got to spend at least a few hours with him before he's gone for good. He even tempted me to buy two CDs (The Doors and A Perfect Circle's second album which I have been wanting to buy but haven't been seeing around and I refuse to buy CDs from HMV because they are bloody over-priced) but thankfully, I was in a state of remorse and I reigned myself in.

So anyway, I think I'm gonna miss him. That would be an interesting feeling.

***

So yesterday I went to school for the Econs re-test.

It was unfortunate that they set a question on fiscal policy, using the 1998 fiscal rescue package issued by the Japanese government as a preamble. It was unfortunate because I could not say anything beyond "it is effective because it will boost consumption and stimulate employment". Tried to sound profound but failed miserably. All I could think of was the data-response that I did before, also on the Japanese case study, and I was just like, okay, root problem is imprudent loans by bank, so must tackle root problem, great, I know more than others, so let's write about this, yeah, root problem, oh shit, what else to write? interest rates already fucking zero, how to decrease? it was already negative anyway so what am I supposed to say? what else about monetary policy?...

And so on and so forth. Gave up on that part, five minutes to end of paper. And part (a) was on the difficulties faced when calculating the GDP figure.

I am ashamed to say that I completely forgot about the existence of the national income accounting topic. All I remembered was some black market thing and some self-employment thing and some large and illiterate population thing.

Demoralisation is me. I don't know what I'm gonna do.

Watched Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Whatever with Princess at Jurong Point after that. Amazingly, I liked it. Loved it, in comparison to my response towards the first one (something along the lines of, "What in the bloody blazing fucking hell did I just watch? Piece of shit!")

I'm inclined to think that Alfonso Cuaron is a genius for doing what Chris Columbus wasn't able to, but maybe the truth is actually this: Columbus sucks, period.

I really dug the Knight Bus or whatever thingy. It was so cool. I was smiling to myself like an excited kid while watching that segment.

On the down side, I still maintain that Daniel Radcliffe is the worst child actor ever. The Potter franchise would be better if someone else were in the lead role instead.

And I love Gary Oldman and David Thewlis (who was in Total Eclipse with Leonardo DiCaprio, a film I dug as well, despite its somewhat over-the-top glorification of Arthur Rimbaud's homosexuality). The chemistry they shared for those few minutes was astounding! They were almost like gay lovers on screen and I was almost waiting for a kiss!

Aww I'm crazy. What can I do? It's just me.

The funny thing was that I was feeling nauseous and giddy and slightly headache-ish throughout the movie. I think it was hunger. I mean, I did have lunch before 12, which is crazy but blame it on the one o'clock Econs re-test.

And this is getting boring.

I can't really remember other stuff I did. It's time to start writing diaries again.

***

I love love love love love Joaquin Phoenix. Oh so very much.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010