today was the bomb.
written: 5:49 p.m. on Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004

I think today is one of the best days of my life.

What I initially thought today meant:

1. An insurmountable amount of uncontrollable, irrepressible birthday angst;

2. Silly expectations from my part and the people around me stamping all over them like melancholic mad elephants, and yes, the poor reference to Dickens's "Hard Times" is fully intended;

3. Disappointment whispering sweet nothings in my ear, lulling me into a nice deep slumber, right in the middle of [insert subject] lesson; and

4. Did I mention the birthday angst? You know, the mini tradition that started when I turned 14? When I was stuck in school with a bunch of bitchy, insufferable drama bitches whom I couldn't stand, all the way to 7 p.m.? Yeah, that.

But somehow, my tradition was completely subverted and I only had the luxury of wallowing self-indulgently in my prerequisite birthday angst for less than a few hours before my great pals, a.k.a my fellow crusaders against the murk of Jackass Junior College, came along and, like I said, completely undercut and deflated (thanks Tubby) my birthday angst tradition.

Today rocked. Mel and Princess apparently braved some heavy rain yesterday and headed down to Bukit Timah where they bought the Best Cake in the Universe, more popularly known as the chocolate cake from Lana Cake Shop or whatever, and after a shit-boring talk on career guidance or some shit in the hall, Princess and I went downstairs from the toilet and I was greeted by a bunch of classmates crowding around some bench, all looking at me when I appeared.

It was my worst nightmare came true, except it wasn't really that much of a nightmare when it actually happened. Before that, throughout the day, I was thinking to myself, "Oh my god, if they pulled one of those 'oh let us sing her a loud birthday song!' thing on me I think I would just die."

And I nearly died of embarrassment because I was more or less drowning in a loud, cacophonous but very, very sweet sea of the traditional birthday song, in English and Chinese, and according to some of my mates who were laughing at me, my face was all red.

Well, not too surprised there. That is just me in a nutshell.

But it was fun. Princess, Linz and I, the three founding members of the Bimbo Club, were acting like complete American high school bimboes, like, "Oh my god, that is totally not true! Ew, how gross!"

Uh, and other stuff.

I didn't really want to type this but I'm not in the studying mood right now, especially since I have been suffering from a shitty migraine for two days, but the computer was switched on so I just thought, "Ah, what the hell."

Yeah, today rocked my socks off. I'm not really thinking about the fact that I'm 18 though. That can be reserved for tomorrow.

And the thing that I thought wouldn't come true, which I was hoping would happen ever since like a few days back, which would elevate this day to Best Day of My Life status from Another Shitty Day in JJC Hell, actually came true, and it was really really really amazing and I really think that I'm in love with him or something along those lines, but of course when I say 'in love' I really mean 'infatuated', and...

And...

Wow. Cool. I'm not gonna say anymore because I don't really want to be like a full-fledged bimbo and shit even though I am, in some aspects, but suffice to say anyway that today was the bomb. And it hasn't even ended.

Thanks Mel for the cards, the cake, the effort, for being you, everything. I love you.

Hmm. Doing History homework at night. Will also attempt to remember stuff for tomorrow's Maths test. Lovely.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010