blah blah blah.
written: 6:19 p.m. on Monday, Jul. 26, 2004

I am tired of writing about school because it is a very boring thing to write and to read about, but it just so happens that my life consists of nothing else, so ultimately, I don't really have a choice.

Yeah. I survived the Prac Crit marathon and I didn't even go to the loo, not even once. And I found out today that this marathon is a weekly thing, which more or less means that Mondays have just taken another arduous turn in their doomed-from-the-start quest to stop sucking so much.

I mean, I had a bloody chocolate muffin for lunch today because I only had twenty minutes to eat. What the hell, right? I mean, yes, I was hungry and didn't feel like eating and the chocolate was divine but that barely filled me up. And uh... I have forgotten what my original point was.

I'm wondering if I would have the time to watch "The Village" when it opens here (for most of you out there who are not in touch with the film industry, it's a M. Night Shyamalan, sp, film, but more importantly, it stars JOAQUIN PHOENIX). It could be another delayed incentive but I don't really want to spend two hours watching a movie when I can cram like half an Econs topic within the same amount of time.

On the other hand, the last Joaquin film I missed in the theatres was Quills and that was because I was underaged. In other words, I will die before I miss another Joaq film in the theatres.

Decisions, decisions. The mature thing to do would be to not watch the film, like what I've decided with "The Return". But then again, we are talking about my favourite actor alive here. I've liked him ever since October 21, 2000, at approximately 9.30 p.m. on a boring Saturday night.

That is the extent of my obsession. Hell, the first entry in this journal was partly about him. So how can I miss his movie? It's impossible.

What's even worse is that I heard that Jielun/Jay Chou is staging a gig here this year. That is practically bloody CATASTROPHIC, because if it's too close to the A Levels, or even anytime from now until the last day of the A Levels (I think it's the 22nd of November for me; I don't remember) the decision on whether to skip or to attend would be a very, very excruciating one. And most probably I would decide not to go. And I would just cry. Like, weep a river's worth of tears. I mean, it's JIELUN. I love Jielun and he was supposed to come in January this year but the bugger conveniently decided not to conduct a tour, for whatever reason, so I was robbed of my second chance of seeing him live.

This year really sucks. I can't wait for all of it to end.

Here's a funny comment heard during another round of General Pointlessness, more commonly known as mere GP: "Martin Luther King was an ang moh."

Do you see why I think JJC is hopeless? And it took like ten years for another girl in my class to tell my teacher that Gandhi was famous for using non-violent means to demand Indian independence from the British, despite the fact that my teacher has already told the class that.

On the whole, I like my classmates. They're perfectly decent individuals whom I have no problems with.

That does not mean, however, that I have to euphemise the fact that they are not exactly very bright.

Teacher: Who was Gandhi?

Classmate: An Indian.

Like, DUH. Oh my god. No wonder I was bloody falling asleep.

Teacher: What did Gandhi do?

Classmate (the same one): Uh, fought for equal rights for the middle-class. (Broken English cleared up and all.)

Seriously, on times like these, for the sake of the well-being of the world, such people should be annihilated.

Then again, no crime beats the one perpetrated by the first classmate who claimed that King was an ang moh. What made things worse was that she was like, "Really meh?" when I told her that he was a black. ("Meh" being a pseudo-word that has absolutely no meaning; it's a mere figure of speech.)

Fuck, you have no goddamn excuse not to know anyway, even if your shitty secondary school were shitty enough not to touch upon racial discrimination in the States (a knowledge that is bloody general and duh if you ask me). We did King's "I have a dream" speech for Prac Crit last year for crying out loud. Either you weren't paying attention, or you're too damn stupid to connect the damn dots.

But how more glaringly obvious can it get? Jeez. The only saving grace about today's GP class was that someone knew Rosa Parks.

Oh, and I found out something alarming about Tubby today. (For the last time, though I know it won't be the last, he's my Lit Paper 4 teacher.) The guy took some crappy commerce/accounting shit in his pre-university education, had little background on Literature, got a scholarship from PSC, whatever that is, to do Lit/English in NUS, and in the end? He topped his cohort.

And there I was, under the false impression that his Lit brilliance was something innate which has been instilled since young.

Ha, ha, ha. What a fraud I am.

And if this entry gets any longer I won't have time to shower so I'm going to stop here.

I hate it when entries end like that, but I'm uncreative so what the hell.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010