more chronicles.
written: 6:24 p.m. on Tuesday, Jul. 27, 2004

More hilarious anecdotes from Yelen's oh-so-brilliant class:

Prac Crit lesson, comparison question, between Lawrence's Piano and another poem, Piano and Drums by an African poet whose name escapes me right now.

(Note: The poem, Piano, was written in propria persona, the poet being D.H. Lawrence, a male (obviously).)

Teacher: What have we established about the speaker of the poem?

Mr. Girl: He's a man.

How absolutely ingenious. I could not have gathered that myself! Oh my god, what tremendous insight!

Well, that's all for today. I can't think of anymore although I know I laughed a lot during Prac Crit today, even though I still maintain that the Bulldog is a doo-doo head and I would be eternally happy if she left tomorrow.

General Pointlessness was excruciating today, and I mean that literally. The teacher went through some comprehension shit and he was slow. He stopped every other sentence to explain every other word and I just sat there, my eyes threatening to close on me, my brains already switched off, glancing at my watch every other split second, hoping that it was time for recess but alas, that was not to be.

It was fucked up, I tell you. I've never been this bored during GP before, not even in Term One when I had a crappy teacher.

And guess what happy announcement the teacher made after he's finally finished going through the answers for the shit-boring comprehension? We're doing more comprehension for the rest of the term, and in groups!

I can already see myself skipping GP at least once a week from now on. I have nothing against Paper 2...

Wait, what am I saying? Paper 2/comprehension epitomises stupidity and pointlessness. Honestly, what the hell is the point of testing one's ability to paraphrase? How is that a pragmatic skill that would help an individual later on in his career? If I were to be a journalist I doubt very much that my first assignment would be to paraphrase a random article that has appeared in the Straits Times.

It's retarded. And Paper 2 is too damn easy for me to waste time on. I don't mind wasting time on the essay part because I think it's a bit too dangerous for me to keep fluctuating between an A2 and a high B3 on bad days and a high A2 and a low A1 on good days. I mean, I kinda need the A1 guaranteed because 1) I deserve it; and 2) I know I can get it.

But my point is, Paper 2 is like, my base. I mean, how shit easy is it to read two passages, understand them and then answer questions based on them? It's like the question-setter is holding your hand every step of the way. Big deal. And I just forked out one bloody dollar for some shitty Paper 2 revision package that I know I would totally sleep through, despite the fact that I had already paid like 8 bucks previously for this huge booklet on Paper 2 stuff.

Argh. I hate my school. Why are the students so damn retarded? I mean, get a dictionary or something lah. English is not that hard, really.

Anyway, apart from my Gargantuan Pointlessness rant I'm sure I have more to say.

Uh.

Yeah.

Well, I think I can be quite the back-stabber. Like, I can be nice to a person to the person's face, but behind the person's back I can be all like, "She is such a bitch", "She is such a fake", "She is such a hypocrite", "She is so stupid."

And you know what? I don't care. Big deal. Everyone does it. You can do it to me; what would I care? I'm out of the place in a few months anyway. None of this is gonna have any long-term bearings on me, so do whatever you want. I allow you to.

Of course, it will suck when your deepest secrets are spilled and shit but who asked you to confess in the first place?

I'm civil towards this girl in my class; used to be warm towards her, until the unfolding of recent developments which involve things that I will not talk about here that has made me very ambivalent towards her, and I just euphemised the situation.

I mean, honestly, she's getting on my last nerve. She can be nice, but she also can be a huge hypocrite. It pisses me off. But since we've established some crappy sorority bullshit, back when I genuinely liked her, she's all warm and nice towards me, and to avoid confrontation, I have to be nice and warm back too.

So whenever she's like, "Hi Yelen!", I have to be like, "Hi [insert name]!" back, like I meant it, but yesterday I had a bitch session about her with Meg Ryan after the 3-hour Prac Crit marathon.

Sometimes, such things cannot be helped. And if she's actually affected, I would suggest a brain transplant or a complete personality overhaul.

Get over it. It hardly matters. Why give a shit?

Time to shower.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010