olympics, both literal and my personal games.
written: 6:52 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 27, 2004

First of all, Olympic-related stuff.

China lost to Lithuania last night. That's okay, as nobody expected them to win and they were indeed true to form. What really pisses me off is that they lost by a pathetic twenty points. That's ten baskets for you.

I mean, if you really have to lose, at least lose with grace and retain some semblance of dignitiy at the very least. Twenty points, I'm afraid, is tres pathetic, especially since they did not score at all during the last couple of minutes. And I don't understand at all why Yao Ming took three quarters before deciding to turn all aggressive and quasi-Shaq. If he'd executed those dunks a bit earlier, they might have been able to save some face.

They're playing the 7th-8th placing match with Spain. They're so gonna lose.

Wait, I just realised something: Yao Ming is going up against the Memphis Grizzlies guy! Cool. I wanna watch the match. I can't remember name of the Memphis player; it's Paul G-something-l. But my point is, China's skills were totally inferior to Lithuania's, the latter being absolutely amazing. They hardly missed a long-distance shot, their shooting was so sharp that I think it was about 80%, or so it seemed, and their defence was tight. Yao Ming kena-ed triple-teamed a few times, hence rendering him ineffectual in the paint and under the basket.

Argh. It's disappointing, albeit expected and all. And the commentors pissed me off majorly. The only players whom they seemed to know were Yao Ming and the Chinese captain Li Nan, and this other dude Du Feng, whose name they mis-pronounced. It's not pronounced 'fang' for crying out loud; learn to pronounce their names right before you comment. Other than that, they were going, "Number 12 missed [insert basketball jargon]!" Jeez.

Some Lithuanian missed a dunk though. Was funny. But he made up for it by grabbing the rebound and making a basket.

Anyway, on a brighter note, 110m hurdler Liu Xiang got into the finals. If I'm not wrong he's running tonight at 12.30 a.m., Singapore time. ARGH I WANNA WATCH! But I can't because there's a pain-in-the-ass Maths paper 2 mock tomorrow!

Besides the fact that I think he's good-looking, the significance of his potential of winning the gold medal for 110m hurdles is certainly potent. Not only would he be the first Chinese to do so, he'd be the first Asian to do so, hence disproving the stereotype against Asian male athletes.

He came to my attention when Time magazine did a small feature on him and this Japanese athlete two weeks back. I haven't heard anything about the Jap, so perhaps he's crashed out, but whatever it is, I hope he wins the gold.

This was a nice piece of news; last night I was under the impression that the 110m hurdles final was already ran because the Chinese news showed a footage of Allen Johnson (is it?) falling during his attempt. And because it was Chinese I didn't really catch what the hell it was, and my dad was like, "Na ge shi jue sai lor. Zhong guo de mei you." ("That was the finals. The China one didn't run.")

Like, bloody impossible lah. It made no sense anyway, considering the crucial fact that Liu Xiang came in first for his heats. So this morning I found out that he's in the finals, and hence my day got a little bit brighter.

Okay, this entry sucks so far, so I need to do something to elevate it from the fiery pits of crap-dom. I had something halfway eloquent in my mind which I wanted to write here while I was doing curve sketching and transformations and bullshit but I can't remember a single word right now, and certainly not how they felt.

Parents are yelling at me to go have dinner. I'm tired. The past few days have been physically draining for me, and I suspect that I may be coming down with something. I fervently hope not though. Prelims are in two weeks and I intend to face it as though I were facing the actual A Levels. I have to plan a strict and relentless studying regiment, or else I can kiss my As goodbye.

Kissing rocks and all but that is one thing I would definitely not enjoy. I'm tempted to berate myself for setting the bar so high; if I fall, it's gonna hurt like a million knife pricks to the heart, and then some. I hazard to fathom how I'd take the failure, the defeat, if it were to be the final outcome.

I don't wanna fail. I'm a binomial distribution kind of girl, like I've mentioned before. And I need this shit to validate my entire goddamn existence because I've been worthless, absolutely useless, up to now.

I mean, it's high time I do something right lah, let's just say. Whatever it is. And I won't berate myself because I don't think I deserve to be kept in the shadow of the potential that I possess.

The teachers can't all be wrong, right?

Okay, folks are getting on my nerves and vice versa. This shall be it then.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010