the case against imperialism. sort of.
written: 7:45 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 10, 2004

Something's wrong with Yahoo! mail. Can't get into my inbox. Fucking irritating.

In fact, computers piss me off. The other computer is a dinosaur, so whenever IE decides to crash on me in the middle of something, I have to reboot the whole stupid thing and wait ten million years for the thing to load before I can resume my web activity, and believe me, it's the most irritating thing ever. And this computer which I'm currently using... is supposed to be new, faster, better, etc. But just today the internet connection fucked up on me three times in a row.

It's a good thing my bro has managed to fixed it, however temporarily, because if I'm unsettled, even over such a minute matter, I can't possess the right frame of mind to continue cramming French Revolution/Napoleon stuff.

And okay, it just bloody sucks lah. Like, so bloody totally. Wah lau, I can't bloody wait to get this stupid bullshit done and over with.

Okay, my attempt at going off in Singlish totally failed, though I really don't know why. But seriously, today is the first time I'm reading through the French Revolution stuff. After a year and nine months, I have finally decided to get off my lazy ass and attempt to shove information into my brains.

No wonder it was so goddamn onerous. Apart from the order in which the different governmental regimes succeeded each other and some crap about Louis XVI, I don't think anything else really got in.

I just realised that there's coconut bits in my chocolate ice-cream. God, that's so gross. And I'm chewing on some candy-like thing now which does not taste any better. I think it's Dairy Bell or whatever. It sucks. Never buy this brand of ice-cream.

So like I was saying, the French Revolution sucks. I was, and am, utterly revolted by the barbarity of the period. Absolutely appalling stuff. If you think the Russian school siege was an act of barbarism, wait till you hear about the period of Terror during the French Rev. It really made me sick.

And the First World War is absolutely retarded. I don't understand how the Europeans could've thought that they had the right to squabble like infants over pieces of land that did not even remotely belong to them. And they dared to colonise China. Go to hell.

I mean, you can't call it territorial integrity because they weren't the original inhabitants of places like, I dunno, Tunisia, Congo, the Balkan States, even bloody hell China. And they treated territories like toys, like, oh, my god, I have just lost to France! Shit, better hand over a colony of mine before I'm kicked even harder in the ass! Then a while later, it's like, Hooray, I have kicked France's ass! Now I'm getting back my colony!

We focus so much on stupid things like which power is staking claims to which part of the world, but what I really want to know is how the locals, the indigenous population, took it. Nobody seems to care. It must've been really fun to exchange a set of foreign occupants for another, again and again and again. And whenever you try to revolt against foreign rule, the stupid foreigners get on their stupid high horses and start sermonising and suppressing you, as if they had the right to do any of those things.

Hell, I'm not surprised that Gabriel Princip assassinated the Archduke Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo on the 28th of June, 1914. What I'm surprised at is that Austria did not seem to have seen it coming. I mean, get a clue. You're occupying an area that does not belong to you. People hate you. You're just waiting for a bloody excuse to wage war, for reasons I really cannot begin to attempt to understand, so stop blaming it on Germany and its blank cheque lah.

In my opinion (and I've finally formulated one), the First World War was the result of stupid European "major powers" like France, Britain and Austria who were too caught up in their stupid, pretentious imperialism race to stop a war that could have been stopped. Germany had a stupid Kaiser in the helm but I'm not exactly inclined to pin the blame on them because...

Well, I don't know. I've lost my train of thought. I hate colonialism and imperialism. I think China should free Tibet and stop staking claims to Taiwan. Forget the stupid 'territorial integrity' argument; Taiwan has every right to protect its de facto sovereignty, all things considered, although, at the same time, Chen Shui-bian is simply opening his door for China to shoot a missile into his home.

Right, so I digress. And it's 8.04 and I have to finish reading stuff on Napoleon by 9 or else I'm gonna not get an A, or at least a B, for History on Monday. So. Yeah.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010