people are infinitely stupid and annoying.
written: 7:22 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 20, 2004

I posted something before this.

This greyish sorry excuse for a layout took 15 minutes, give or take a few. Yeah. It's uh, I don't know, the white of the previous one was a bit too blinding after a while.

To be honest, I have nothing to say. I contemplated ranting about how irritated I get when people go, "Wah your childhood damn deprived!" when I demonstrate that I did not read/come across a certain English nursery rhyme/fairy tale/yadayada that they happen to know...

Actually, on second thoughts, I think I do want to rant about it after all.

Okay. This whole 'deprived childhood' bullshit seriously pisses me off. Now, tell me, why the hell am I supposed to know about the Rumpelstilskin or whatever the fuck it's called story? Why the hell am I supposed to watch Sesame Street while growing up? Since when was it a rule that I have to have a childhood that is the same as every single boring, banal and absolutely unoriginal Singaporean that I come across?

Excuse me for growing up in Taiwan. I'm sure you've never heard of some of the Chinese songs that I was exposed to when I was in nursery/kindergarten, so how would you like me to accuse you of having a 'deprived childhood'? I'm positive, too, that the average Singaporean of my generation would not have learnt to read and write traditional Chinese characters when they were 5 or 6, so all of you people out there have had 'deprived' childhoods as well.

If you don't fucking know the meaning of the word 'deprived', don't fucking throw it around as if you have the fucking authority to, because you don't.

It's a laugh that I should have my childhood being labelled as 'deprived' on more than one occasions, seeing as how it was actually richer and a lot more opulent than most kids' today. Did I grow up with my eyes glued to computer games? No. Did I grow up wearing glasses? No. Did I grow up speaking a foreign tongue? Hell no.

I'm fucking proud of the way I was brought up, the place in which I was brought up, as well as the manner in which I was brought up. The next person to use that phrase on me is going to get it from me. I swear. If I don't completely cuss out the next fucker to do that, I wouldn't be me.

Seriously. People. Just because my childhood doesn't conform to normal Singaporean standards doesn't mean that it's any less of a childhood than yours. Okay? In fact, I could so turn the fucking table around and call yours 'deprived' for having lived in only one country while growing up.

I mean, how fucking stupid is that? And Sesame Street is honestly retarded so why the hell should I have been brought up on it? Just because everyone else had been?

Oh fuck off. People have no idea what the hell kind of bullshit they're spewing half the time. It makes one wonder why half the world has not been annihilated by now, because it really should be.

Okay. So anyway. Tomorrow: Maths paper 2. Time to be raped senseless once more. Can't hardly wait.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010