exhaustion.
written: 6:38 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 24, 2004

Physically and mentally drained. I'm damn glad that I got to spend a couple of hours in a darkened cinema laughing my ass off at the mostly-brainless "Dodgeball". Was funny. Contained cliche moments, especially at the end when the underdog team won (if anyone considers this a spoiler, it just shows that we haven't been watching our movies) and everyone started cheering for them and woodwinds played triumphantly in the background, blah blah blah.

But it was funny. Vince Vaughn is great. Ben Stiller was unrecognisable. I preferred the funny lines to the funny actions but that's just me. Totally loved the braindead exchange between Ben Stiller's character and Vince Vaughn's character in the bar. Haha! So funny.

One could probably make a comment on how the movie can be seen as a parody of society's obsession with working out and with slimming down, blah blah, but I'm too fucking tired to talk intelligently about it so who cares. Besides, it's meant as a stress-relieving kind of moment thing, you know, after two weeks (eight days) of exams, four days in a row for two weeks. Yeah. I'm exhausted. And there's prac crit on Wednesday. Wahoo. Gonna get a 50+% again.

I had a blast with Mel at Woodlands, a place I last visited in March this year when I had a nice catching-up thingy with Mr. Nerd. Yeah. We bought matching scrunchies (Mel and I, not Mr. Nerd and I, obviously; besides, his lovely floppy hair is all gone now due to bloody national service and shit) and hung out at the library and bitched and gossiped about people and it was nice. We should do this more often.

Obviously, this entry is stuck in the lowest level of hell but just, I don't know, bear with it. I'm tired. Like, really tired. Uh, yeah.

History paper 2 today was...

On the bright side, I think that if I don't get a 20/25 for my Japanese Occupation/Post-War nationalism esasy, something is seriously wrong with me.

On the down side, I'm pretty sure I fucked up one of the sources for the source-based (and it was one that was done in class before; obviously I wasn't paying attention) and indirect rule came out and I only attempted to study for indirect rule at 12 this morning and needless to say I forgot most of the details so my esasy was crap. Only reason I managed to finish it was because I had nothing substantial to say.

Oh I don't know. I'd feel a lot more relieved if I knew for sure that the 'partitioning of Malaysia' thing was not a reference to the Malaysian Solidarity Convention but I'm too lazy right now to dig out that handout and look at it so yeah.

And I'm also too lazy to explain the historical context.

I think 'causes of the First World War' is so much easier to do source-based stuff than Singapore's political history. Blah blah blah.

Oh and I borrowed this book entitled "James Dean: Behind the Scene" from the Woodlands library. Ahh! Photos of the God!

I think I'm gonna rip out everything and just return the cover. How am I to part company with it? Ever? How humanly impossible if you ask me.

If James Dean were alive today and if he were 24, I would totally track him down and force him to marry me.

Then again, marriage sucks, so I'll track him down and we'd have a lovely exhilarating love affair thing which would end in him dumping me (I'd lose respect for him if it were the other way round) and me nursing a broken, shattered heart over him, which would be a rather interesting new experience for me as it's yet to happen, and I'd grow old and become an old maid because nobody else can ever replace Jimmy in my heart...

Uh, yeah, getting rather saccharine here. Right. The point is, I love James Dean. He's the only person I idolise and I feel comfortable about doing it 'cause he's dead anyway. So yeah.

And I'm glad he burnt out and not faded away, kinda like how Marlon Brando did. Rather paradoxically, he achieved immortality upon death. I believed that two years ago and I still believe it.

So yeah I guess I wouldn't rule out the possibility of me starting a religion called Deanism after all. We'd preach... the arts. Self-expression. Having the guts to flip the finger in the face of the establishment. In short, everything he stood for, everything he ever was, everything he achieved.

I'd so love to visit his grave. Wait, where is it anyway?

I'm kinda gushing about him here but I really worship him. Like, totally. And all.

And I'm extremely incoherent today. I don't think any other entry has been this staccatoed, if such a word even exists.

Time for dinner.

I hate it when I end entries like that but oh well. I'm too lazy to think.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010