another really bad entry.
written: 6:50 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004

I initially thought of writing a long rant entry on this Channel NewsAsia programme I chanced upon this morning but after the entry, or the beginnings of it, have been left festering in my mind for the whole day, the drive to get it all out has diminished somewhat.

But just to talk about it briefly (which, in Yelen speak, is euphemism for 'actually long and incoherent'). Came across an interview with Mr. Lee Kuan Yew on Channel NewsAsia while bro was channel-surfing and I forced him to let me watch the thingy while he scooted off the couch into my parents' room and played some computer game of his.

So yeah.

What pissed me off about the interview was the interviewer, this American middle-aged man.

I find it quite amazing how, even when he was speaking with Mr. LKY, a.k.a the man responsible for Singapore's progress, development and prosperity, the American still came across as patronising, just like a goddamn imperialist. But of course, it could've been my anti-colonialist attitude going into extreme overdrive, but towards the end of it, the American said something really glaringly stupid that confirmed that I was not being uptight.

He was asking Mr. Lee about America's global reputation and what America has to do to ward off international suspicion of its super power status. Mr. Lee was giving a reply, in that slow, thoughtful manner of his, like, "While you lead the world..."

This happened quite a few times, but none of it was as irritating as this interruption. The American interviewer butt in and was like, "Politically, economically, culturally..."

First of all, he's Mr. Lee Kuan Yew. Show some respect. I know you're American and hence have basically no knowledge of any other history except your own, but he is still Mr. Lee Kuan Yew. What the man has accomplished in his lifetime is only what you can dream about in your wildest fantasies.

Second of all, it is so amazingly ironic and hilarious that the American interviewer was trying to address the issue of the proliferation of anti-Americanism when he had the audacity to say that the USA is a cultural leader of the world.

America, the cultural leader of the world? Excuse me while I completely fall off my chair in uncontrollable fits of laughter.

What aspect of America's culture garners it that title? Pray tell, for I would really like to know. McDonalds? I swear, McDonalds has got to be one of the most unhealthy and disgusting and environmentally-irresponsible things I've ever had the bad fortune of coming into contact with. Hollywood? Yeah, with every decent (and I'm saying DECENT) Hollywood film comes about twenty pieces of pure trash. Its pop culture? Half-drugged high school kids who stupidly think that getting high is cool? The burgeoning problem of anorexia amongst equally-stupid teenage girls?

Are you bloody kidding me?

If the American interviewer really wanted an answer to his question, he should look no further than himself. Upon hearing those words I was completely disgusted.

The key to reducing anti-Americanism? Eliminating people like him. It is precisely because of such blatant disrespect for other people's cultures and the fact of diversity that anti-Americanism is spreading like wildfire. You can never, ever convince me, not even when I'm old and plagued with Alzheimer's and whatnot, that the Americans are culturally-superior to, for example, the Chinese.

Okay, my mom just pissed me off and hence I don't feel like going off about this any more. Suffice to say, though, that...

Ah, whatever.

And that makes two bad entries in a row.

I shouldn't take the A Levels. Look what it's doing to my intelligence and my writing.

I ran out of glue today so I couldn't paste my newspaper articles into my exercise books. I have like, one huge stack of articles that piqued my curiosity but which I've been too lazy and too busy to read.

Amazingly, I'm trying very hard not to read the newspapers. Once I start, two hours are wasted, just like that. It's bad for the studying.

Did I ever mention how much I hate the A Levels? Well, I do. Very much.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010