last day of the year.
written: 10:47 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 31, 2004

Very surprisingly, I'm feeling a bit melancholic right now. It seems so final that December 31 is here. Tomorrow's Jan 1, 2005, and my brother's going to school on Monday. And for the first time in 12 years, I wouldn't be joining him.

What can I say? It's weird. I'm not really used to it yet. It didn't feel anything out of the ordinary for the whole of December, since it is December...but staying home in January? The first day of school? Like I said before, first time in 12 years.

Today's actually the end of a beginning, if you really want to know. JC's over; hooray! But more importantly, my nice little cocooned, sheltered life has ended too. Now I have to look for employment. How strange, that very concept.

It's good for me though; I've been sheltered for far too long. It's time I get out more.

All right, now on to the main point of this entry.

I feel that today's been a good day, all things considered. In fact, I would say that this New Year's Eve (truthfully, I think of December 31 more as the last day of the year instead of the dawn of the new year) has been a lot more memorable than all the ones that came before.

So, I did it. Tied up the loose ends. And it wasn't as ugly as I was afraid it would be; in fact, it went pretty well. I won't go into details though. This is one thing that I have to keep to myself; it means that much to me, I guess.

So I guess what I'm trying to say is...it was a good end to an okay/fine/good year.

I don't mean to pull a William Hung (anyone still remembers him?), but honestly, from the cavity where my heart should be, I've absolutely no regrets.

Cheers to the new year, I guess. I'm half-afraid, half-excited. Let's just hope that I don't drown too early.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010