2004: year in review
written: 10:23 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 31, 2004

I did this same survey last year; too lazy to hunt around for a new one so I'll just recycle it.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

I took the A Levels. That's 'new experience' enough to last me an entire lifetime. And I guess you could count my heartfelt attempts at studying for it too.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn't make any and I don't intend to make any this year either. I don't keep them anyway; why waste my time?

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

Taiwan, my Taipei. It wasn't what I had in mind but for the most part, it was a good trip. I mean, I got to see Jielun close up for three seconds, so...haha.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

A more interesting social life. A few flings. Yeah, that'd be fun.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

A few:
a. November 27, 2004 - Jielun's Incomparable concert in Singapore, and it was the single-most amazing concert experience of my life. Absolutely mind-blowing.

b. December 11, 2004 - Jielun's autograph session in Taipei. The first time I queued for so long, and also the first time I got to see someone I really admire so up close. And it also helped that HE LOOKED AT ME. So, yeah.

c. July 14, 2004 - My first good birthday in about three or four years. I thought everything would go wrong since it was my birthday, but all that could've gone wrong didn't go wrong, and Mel was just incredible. I could never forget it.

d. Today: 31 December, 2004 - I think this last-day-of-the-year (I tend to think of Dec 31 in that way rather than New Year's Eve) was the most memorable last-day-of-the-year of them all. I had some loose ends to tie up, and I did it. That's all I'm gonna say for now.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Topping the level in Lit, History and GP, but I don't think it's all that fantastic or anything. So I'd rather go with this: Getting a 20/25 for a prelim Econs essay, from a teacher who told my class that she never gives out 20/25. Cambridge can kiss my ass if they don't give me an A in the subject (but since I'm inherently pessimistic, I'm expecting a B).

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not getting three As in the prelims. What can I say? I can pinpoint exactly what papers did me in for Lit and Econs: Paper 8 for the former, and MCQ for the latter. But I don't wanna talk about it anymore, so let's move on.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Yeah, had to nurse an almost year-long crush. Does that count?

11. What was the best thing you bought?

My Jielun souvenir basketball jersey...haha, I don't know. The Formula 17 DVD, yeah. And other stuff.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Definitely Melissa. I could never have survived without her. She rocks my boat.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Well, it doesn't matter, does it?

14. Where did most of your money go?

Honestly? I have no idea. Probably clothes, knowing myself. I so need employment.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Jielun's concert; same answer as last year. The Taiwan trip, too. And all those times in school when I caught a glimpse of that person whom I've liked for practically the whole year. It's pretty funny, on hindsight.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

I have no idea. None, I guess. I don't really associate songs with years.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Right now, I guess I feel a little more at peace; on the whole, my disillusionment has increased and I'm still trying to fill up the gaps.

ii. thinner or fatter? Ugh, definitely fatter.

iii. richer or poorer? Poorer, without the slightest doubt.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Writing. Definitely.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Spending money on things that I never wore again. Oh well.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I already did. Usual lunch thing at my grandma's. Christmas isn't really special to me.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Uh, not really, but yeah, had that long-ass crush.

23. How many one night stands?

Not my type of thing. I'm genuinely not interested in sex right now.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

America's Next Top Model, The Apprentice and American Idol.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

No, I don't hate people because there's no point in wasting my energy thinking about people whom are not worthy of my precious time.

26. What was the best book you read?

England, England, Staring at the Sun, both by Julian Barnes, and Vernon God Little.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

More classical music! Yay!

28. What did you want and get?

Jielun's $150 concert ticket, his autograph, a memorable birthday, a laptop, trip back to Taiwan.

29. What did you want and not get?

Everything else.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

Formula 17, without a doubt. I love it more than all the Hollywoods I've watched combined. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind comes in pretty closely behind though.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

18; I had a nice celebration in school and fantastic Lana chocolate cake. And it was memorable not just because of that.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I...well, it doesn't matter.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

You know what? I totally wouldn't.

34. What kept you sane?

No idea. It's a wonder I haven't jumped off a bridge already.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Very obviously, Jay Chou Jie Lun.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

A few. Taiwan's presidential elections, some shit going on China, Thailand's troubled south, things like that. But I guess the ONE issue that stirred me the most was the reunification/status quo thing between Taiwan and China, and of course, the presidential elections, since they go hand-in-hand.

37. Who did you miss?

I don't know.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Very honestly? Him.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.

Fuck life lessons, okay? Nobody cares.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

~{LlUfTZUbLuB7IO~}
~{5x5xW2W2~}
~{K}1;C"2]8nIK~}

~{V9U=V.IK~} ~{V=BW~}/~{7=NDI=~}


this entry requires chinese simplified encoding

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010