red-hot idol worship in full swing.
written: 6:19 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 21, 2005

Okay, this is final: I am officially in love with Jay Chou Jie Lun. I'm falling head over heels for him right this moment, like a useless 14-year-old fangirl, but fuck it, I don't care. He's absolutely amazing, and that's merely putting it mildly. How can one man be so brilliant? I don't understand. And more importantly, why is he not mine? Have you any idea how much I absolutely love his rendition of Ti Tian? The forceful way with which he did his rap and remembered every single meaningful word? How I whole-heartedly agree with his message? How much I respect him because of it? How I am moved to near tears by the way he's so appreciative of his fans? And Ti Tian, have I ever mentioned how much I love it? And today, I just realised that I've overlooked a crucial line in the lyrics all these while: kan zhe xi yang pian (watching Western movies). God, everything just becomes so much clearer, and you should really listen closely to his words, and the zest with which he delivers those words, and it's so obvious that he means every single word.

Zhi Zhan Zhi Shang too. He remembers all the words, and I...he did four encore songs in Taiwan. Why, Jielun, why? You only did like two in Singapore. This is the best day of 2005 for me. After waiting for so long - it feels like a million lifetimes, and then some - the CD is finally here, and I was so kiasu that I called up CD Rama yesterday to place an order, and this morning again to check if it's already arrived. And, and, the poster is fantastic. It's one of him sitting in front of the piano, doing a song. He so does not look like Jielun and I love the picture.

I don't think I can properly convey how much I loved the CD. I don't even give a fuck that he practically forgot all the lyrics to Wo De Di Pan and came up with this totally hilarious filler. Zui Hou De Zhan Yi was much better done in Singapore too, but the front bit when he sang some filler thingy to make up for his forgetting the real lyrics was just so funny. And you know what? I was touched when he sang, "�Һܸж�" towards the end of �ص���ȥ, and it was just fantastic. I mean, you can't fault him for his imperfections, because it really doesn't matter. He pours everything into performing these shows, and just to watch Jielun live once in this lifetime is more than enough to placate a person for eternity, and I got to watch him twice. God, he's amazing. He's so damn amazing. If I still wonder why the hell I'm so fanatical over him...well, his Incomparable CD provides all the answers to this seemingly impossible question.

It's simple, really. I don't get excited over people who're mediocre at best; celebrating mediocrity is one of most banal things that people do in this world. Jielun is anything but mediocre. He's simply the sole winner with his foot on the turtle's head, that's all. ��վ��ͷ, if you want the original Chinese.

His concerts were so aptly named �����ױ�. It might have been a play on words, because of the 'lun' and all, but god, how absolutely apt, I tell you. He's incomparable. How many Chinese singers actually sing live in the first place, you know? And not only does Jielun always sing live without fail, he does it so wonderfully too. The little variations in his songs, his forgetting the lyrics (always cracks me up and shows that he's human), and that voice of his that never goes out of tune when he's doing his personal concerts...god, I fucking want him, and I fucking want him NOW.

I can't wait to get my hands on the concert DVD. I wonder when it's gonna come out. Hopefully I wouldn't have to wait another ten million years for it; the first ten million years were more than enough.

I love the way he began Long Juan Feng too, and the last bit when he forgot his lyrics and the audience sang it for him, and the things that he said was soooo touching.

God, I love this CD so much. How I wish that they'd release the Singapore November 27 one! Zui Hou De Zhan Yi was just beautiful when he did it here. The Taipei version is more comical than melancholic though; definitely more light-hearted. He was going off about his friend Liu Genghong, who appeared in the music vid for the song as well as in Jielun's The One concert when he sang the song.

Argh fuck I'm awfully inarticulate right now. I'm still trying to recover from the high I got by listening to the CD. He's absolutely incredible, and that's a mere, useless, unappreciative understatement.

Great. Now I so feel like going for his Kuala Lumpur concert, and it's gonna shred me to bits and pieces that I can't. It's probably sold out a long time ago.

You know, I don't think many people can really understand why I'm so crazily head-over-heels for this guy, who didn't even attend a university, let alone graduate from one. It's so easy to write him off as a useless ah beng who happens to be able to compose beautiful melodies...but when he does things like Ti Tian and Zhi Zhan Zhi Shang, you just know that there's so much more up there in his mind.

And then there's the whole Chinese pride thing too. He's truly phenomenal.

**

In other news, I called up the guy from the job thing and told him that I don't want it anymore.

And I am so glad to be rid of that fucking ridiculous weight on my shoulders.

Wahoo! Now I can meet Peixuan on Wednesday in peace and watch the five-star Hotel Rwanda with my favourite American, Joaquin Phoenix!

Hopefully, the job interview Mel checked out on Monday will go well.

In the meantime, there's the doggy sales thingy on Sunday, which I'm not exactly looking forward to, but the thought of drinking bubble tea changes everything. I can definitely deal.

Especially when I have my Incomparable to Jay CD with me.

this entry requires chinese simplified encoding, even though it fucks up the current layout; chinese is more important than a layout looking good, however.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010